Fire Walking in Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 25th 2006
Published: July 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fire Walking in Barcelona
Sorry guys that it has been awhile since the last time I had written. In this episode of how the stomach churns (sometimes)….Christine finds herself scared to death with large booms and pops from all over the city. Are we being invaded? Are the Barceloneans crazed pyromaniacs? The birds flew so did my pen each time a firecracker went off. Intrigued? Read on….Do I have your attention yet? O.K.

I landed in Barcelona, which is mega huge compared to Valencia, right smack in the middle of Festival. The Celebrations of San Sebastian and San Joan. I was told that the fireworks are to frighten off the evil spirits. If anyone wants to add their two cents in to why the fireworks besides scaring me and the birds you are welcomed to join in. Anyway, continuing the saga, These two saints are the reason for celebration in this port city.

I took the bus from Valencia and knew as to what street the hostel was on. As we turned the final corner we were on the street that I needed. Looking carefully at the numbers, the bus was moving away from the hostel. I wanted to yell alto! este es mi parada, stop! This is my stop, while we were traveling down hill towards the bus station. Of course, the bus could not have stopped for me so we went all the way down the hill to the station. Telling myself that a nice up the hill with my full-backpack-on-and-daypack-in-tow hike was good for me after being on a bus for five hours. I love traveling on Sundays. At least the sidewalks were empty while I lumbered up to the hostel.

Before this trip, I promised myself that I was not going to do too many of the tourist trap things while here. I broke down, though, and bought the autobus turistica pass for two days. The buses go to all of the main tourist attractions in the city and passengers can get on and off the bus within the one or two day pass. I bought the pass on Monday, which almost every single attraction is closed on Mondays, and hopped on and off the bus. Best money that I can ever spend. I saw more of Barcelona those two days than the rest of the time. The remaining time I used the Metro which I have always loved in any city. If earthquake zone California build an underground system, why cant Phoenix? I know money and politics, don’t get me started. Metro was great, but no air conditioning. Barcelona was maybe 90 degrees, but really, really humid! I was melting. Many have emailed me saying that we were in the triple digits. I will take that heat over this any day.

Why the title Fire Walking in Barcelona? Well, I have to put down some catchy title to grab your attention. Part of the festivities during this time is for people to walk on fire to cleanse their souls. On the last weekend was the biggie. I met up with two ladies from California, Diane and Lorraine, and we braved the metro to get the beach where all the to do was going on. The metro was packed. Not just Oh my goodness there is alot of people packed. Imagine Japanese commuter train at rush hour packed. Yes. And the intrepid threesome, be nice, were going from the extreme north of the city to the veerrrryyyy opposite corner of Barcelona. It was 1030 when we started our commute and 30 minutes later we all poured out of the station. Having no idea which way, we followed the herd to the beach.

It was one long major beach party. It was still early people, families, children, babies, were all still arriving as we strolled along the boardwalk. After a while, we stopped for dinner, mind you that it was now past midnight, and the crowd was still growing. Asking the waiter when the fire walking was to occur. He said not until just before the morning, that event would take place and everyone afterward would watch the sunrise. Yikes, I had been up since 7 am or so on Sunday, had siesta for about 3 hours, and have been walking around town all day. Cultural immersion is such hard work. There was no way that I would be able to stay up until then. The waiter also warned me that if the Civil Guard finds anyone asleep on the beach its a 100 Euro fine. No thanks. We held out until 230 or so on Monday morning. No where near close to the time to even light the fires which were neatly displayed in all the regalia. With the party still in full swing, we hailed a taxi and made way for our hostel.

We get the speed demon from hell. Poor Lorraine, new friend from California, sat in the front seat. The driver actually suggested for her to hold onto the Jesus strap as he drove like a mad man sent on a vital mission to get us back to the hostel the speediest way possible. Six minutes, yes, I timed it after we go around the first corner at warp speed, later and thankful that I was not in the front seat, we arrived. That was one way to wake us up. We should have asked him to drive us back to watch the Fire Walking in Barcelona.

I am in Leon currently and will post the next entry soon Thats all for now of this edition of....As the stomach churns.....Bye now.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb