Game day!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
May 30th 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Saturday! Alethia had to be on the 4 o'clock bus back to Madrid so, we got up EARLY to get some touring done. Most things were still closed so, we just walked around until we found a cafe that was open. We had a little breakfast and walked around a bit. There was a little park near our hostel so, we sat there for a little. It was about 9:00 by this time, but nice and quiet in the city. We didn't rest long, though, because our time was limited. We went back to the hostel so that she could check out and get her bag. Afterwards, we went to the bus stop and waited.

We took the bus to the arts & science museum, but didn't go in. All we had time to do was watch an IMAX movie on dinosaurs, which started at noon. It was interesting, but the chairs were so comfy and it was so chilly in the room. I almost fell asleep. haha. I wouldn't mind going back and watching the film on Egypt sometime. After this, she got something at the giftshop and we ate at the museum's cafe. I had an empanadilla with tomatoes and she had a pizza.

Afterwards, we hopped on the same bus to take it back to our stop. It went all around the city so, by the time we got back to our hostel, she needed to wait for her bus. We got to see a lot of the city, but omg, it took so long! We said goodbye and I forgot to get her last name so that we could keep in contact. Too bad! :/

Once inside, I took my laptop downstairs so that I could use the wireless. I hadn't called home in ages and figured I better check in. Well, their wireless was down so, I had to wait on someone else so that I could use the cable. That girl ended up being one of the ones I saw at Mestalla Friday. :O! She asked if I was going to the game and if I wanted to go with her and her friend to the team's hotel. (Of course!) We left the hotel at about 6 pm and walked and walked and walked. O_O; It was far! Actually, it wouldn't have been that bad if I hadn't already walked all over the place early that morning.

We ended up standing around for the longest time. A few people showed up, but not a whole lot. When the bus showed up, people got all excited. The girls were crazy about Morientes and they had told me they come to Valencia every year to see the team (but mostly Morientes, I think). I was thinking, "Oh, no! These bitches are gonna go crazy!" It would have been funny, but there were no dramatics, in the end.

The area from the hotel exit to the bus was so short and they just zoomed by. (Laura had suggested I wait at the stadium before the game and see them when they show up. I'm thinking that would have been better, perhaps.) Most of the photos are either fuzzy or of their backs. Meh. But now that I'm looking at the photos, I realize that they were SO CLOSE. I didn't realize that while I was looking through my camera's viewfinder. OOF. In touching distance! I am dying.

Once the bus left, the girls and I went on towards Mestalla. OR SO THEY THOUGHT. We walked so far and then, they realized that they were lost. -_-; It was hot and we had to have walked a mile or more. When we were done at the hotel, I should have just walked to Mestalla on my own because I knew how to get there from the other route. They were taking streets away from the main streets near Turia and the buildings were so tall you couldn't even see other landmarks. Oy. Well, we had to turn around and walk BACK the way we came, but down a different street. Eventually, we saw a dad taking his son to the game and they asked him for directions. Lord! I was so happy to see him and if they had gone down a different street; I'd have kept following him. haha.

I sat in the 2nd row by one of the goals so, I had a good view of everything. I just wish I could have had a more central seat so that I could have seen more of the action at the other end of the pitch. My eyes are so bad! :/ I don't know what to say about the game... I've seen them play better, but I'm happy that they won (2-0). Villa had so many chances to score, but kept missing. It was frustrating and at one point, he was on the ground holding his head. Pobre Guaje!

It was really great to actually be at a game and if I didn't know cuss words in Spanish, I'd have learned some that night! There was a group of fans together near us and they were singing songs and yelling all sorts of things. It's funny because some people were loud and I was just sitting there all quiet with my hands in my lap like I was at a tennis match. Ooh, one interesting thing! You're allowed to bring food into the stadium, but your drink can't have a top (I don't know why!). When it was half-time, everyone dug into their bags and pulled out sandwiches. :D It was brilliant.

I thought that they would do something special since it was the last game of the season and perhaps, the last at Mestalla, but nope! They said goodbye to Morientes and Curro Torres (their contracts are over, I believe), but nothing big. Outside, everyone huddled around one of the doors to wait for the players to come out. It was about 11 pm by this time. I thought about waiting around, too, but oy. I was tired and wanted to get to bed. I made plans to go to Paterna the next day and figured I could do the signing stuff then. (Unfortunately, I overslept and never made it to Paterna. Meh.)

I didn't get to see those Chinese girls again. I didn't think of it until my mom asked, but I hope that they made it to the hostel and didn't get lost again! I figure that they wouldn't because it was a straight shot to the hotel and really quite close.


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



3rd June 2009

Squee!
It seems like you could practically touch Villa! LOL and aww at being able to bring food into the stadium. Very cool. I'm loving seeing your pictures and reading your blog! :D
5th June 2009

Wow, what an awesome day! I love the architecture of those buildings, wow. You were so close to the guys. David's hot! I don't know much about the game, but he's my fave. Glad you're meeting people to hang with.
17th June 2009

Finally able to see your pictures and game day must of been your most enjoyable day. Hope to see more pictures.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb