Carnaval!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Alicante
February 14th 2010
Published: March 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

An exciting excuse to dress up! I absolutely loved this festival. On Friday, I painted my face, went out at midnight and caught a parade. As I came around the corner, I could hear Michael Jackson blaring. I love how much American music is here. I watched three or four marching bands and tons of people dressed in costumes, including a guy dressed in the best devil costume I've ever seen and breathing fire.

Saturday was even better! I left around ten, wasn't back until four or five in the morning. I painted my face again and headed down to the Rambla. As I walked down the street, I heard the Hi Ho song from Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs playing. But it was redone and in techno. I kid you not. In a small plaza, they had a music booth set up. Although it was already about eleven, there were little tiny kids out dressed up and old ladies in costume dancing to American music. I was aware that they probably had no idea at all what the songs were about.

I thought the music thing was interesting. It kind of shows how prevalent American culture is.
El Diablo y YoEl Diablo y YoEl Diablo y Yo

Everyone always knew we were close
Also, many of the costumes were American things. I saw Bart and Lisa Simpson, Stewie, the Blue Meanie (not American, but still), a group of girls dressed as Minnie Mouse, and many others.

There were several full stages set up on different streets. The streets were crowded with costumed people and lights hung from buildings. Everyone was dancing. I found some other international students from the States and we danced Spanish style together. Around 2 in the morning, the band announced they had songs for us Americans and began performing classic rock and Michael Jackson. The Final Countdown, Billie Jean, Thriller (and yes, a huge group of Spaniards in the street reinacted some of the more popular dance moves. I loved it!), You Shook Me All Night Long, and more.

The band quit at three but nobody was going home yet. I went to a nearby club for some water and to hang out a little longer. On my way home, I passed by the same stage expecting the street to be emptying. Nope! The band was back and playing again! The Spaniards sure know how to party. I got home at about five, tired but thrilled about
Painted facePainted facePainted face

I would have done more for a costume but it was pretty cold so I stuck with a long sleeved shirt and just slapped some makeup on!
my first night partying in Spain.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

La RamblaLa Rambla
La Rambla

Saturday night
One of my favoritesOne of my favorites
One of my favorites

Gotta love a guy in a dress with gigantic 'dwarves"
Bart and Lisa SimpsonBart and Lisa Simpson
Bart and Lisa Simpson

I love their costumes!
HaHa
Ha

Notice Duffman?
Joker and IJoker and I
Joker and I

We saw each other at the same time. He saw my jacket. He asked if I was American and then told me in English: "Very good movie!" :)
Gollum!Gollum!
Gollum!

AAAGH! This guy went as Frodo complete with Gollum strapped to his back. CREEPY!


12th March 2010

What Fun!!!!!!!!!!
Glad you had a great time and took pics to share with everybody.Love Mom

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.13s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb