End of Second Week in Alicante


Advertisement
Published: June 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Finally Friday!!!



Thank goodness its the weekend!! can't believe the second week is over if flew by so fast. I'm planning on spending the afternoon at the beach. Classes went well this afternoon. I have midterms next week in two classes, yikes!!

USAC offers a really cool thing to the students that they can sign up for which are called intercambios. These intercambios are Spanish students that go to the university who are studying English. You can get paired up with someone and you can meet whenever and however many times you want. They will help you practice Spanish and vice versa. A few of my friends have met with them and it sounds cool to make a new local friend. I just got the info on my intercambio today. His name is Fernando!! I have to call him and I'm really nervous. I'm not sure how my spanish is going to sound on the phone. I hope he wants to meet up soon. I think it will be a good experience and good spanish practice.

Last night twelve of us girls were going to go snorkeling off the island of Tabarca and watch the sunset. Our guide
DSCN2346DSCN2346DSCN2346

my strawberry daiquiri. Too much sugar!
(who spoke really funny English) told us it was too choppy to go all the way to the island. He took us along the cost and said we could reschedule and he wouldn't charge us for this trip. He was so nice. The waves were huge!!! we were screaming so loud and it felt like a roller coaster. I was a little nervous because our boat was so tiny. I'm really excited for the next time to go out. Afterwards, a few of us girls went to a really cute outside bar called Soho. I got my first strawberry daiquiri here. It was super sugary, I don't think I could drink it again. This morning I also got a hot chocolate from a machine!! They give you a little dixy cup looking thing with hot chocolate. You can get coffee too. It was a little strange but super cool.

After school today I stopped into this ceramic/pottery store. They have tons of really pretty kitchen pottery and bowls and things. Mom, you would love this store. I asked the lady and she said all of the stuff was made here in Spain. Its really cool.

I'm about to
DSCN2347DSCN2347DSCN2347

the hot chocolate/coffee vending machine at school
eat lunch with my family in a few minutes. My host mom asked if I could french braid her hair because she loved mine when I did it. It was so cute. The world cup also starts today. I have a feeling I'm going to be watching a lot of soccer soon.

Hasta Luego!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

DSCN2351DSCN2351
DSCN2351

inside the potter store
DSCN2336DSCN2336
DSCN2336

our teeny tiny snorkeling boat
DSCN2329DSCN2329
DSCN2329

view of our beach from the water and Mount Benacantil
DSCN2334DSCN2334
DSCN2334

the harbor


14th June 2010

hi Sam, As always I really enjoy your messages. What a great experience you are having. I had a great weel end thie past week end. I went with Patty and Randy to Nickys graduation in Athens. It was my fist grand child graduating from college. and I know that there will be many more. I drove to Patty's on Fri afternoon and we took off for Athens about 4. We stayed in a cabin about 20 miles from Athens. A quaint little place. After partying with Nicky we arrived at the cabin about 11. There was another couple staying there too. Parents of one of Nicky's room mate. One of her best friends. They were late in making reservations at the motels and everything was full. Thank heavens Nickys' room mate's family found this. We stayed in the loft up some steep steps. After the graduation on Sat we partyed again. I had been raining off and on all day. We got back to the cabin about midnite and everyone else was in bed. Thank heavens Randy brought his flash lite in because at 3 AM the electricity went off. A big tree fell over the lines at the entrance of the place. needless to say we could not shower or have coffee. But the people who own the place live next door and brought us coffee. We left there about 10 to help Nicky clean her apt and pack the rest of her STUFF. it sure was a fun time. i got back to otoville about 6;15. A little tired. I went to bed early. You take care and stay safe I lve you Nana
15th June 2010

How awesome!
Hi Sam! Your Mom forwarded your blog site to me and I love hearing about your adventures and seeing the pictures. Fernando, eh? oooh, I like that name! I just spent some time with a man from Madrid who told me the best Paella in Spain is to be found in Valencia and Alicante. Have you had it yet? And you must have some sangria with it! I'm so glad you are having such an amazing and wonderful experience! I hear you are going to Granada soon, too. That will be sooo awesome. Make sure you go up to the highest point in the old city and watch the sunset. Ahhh, Espania!!! Have fun! Love, Cathy

Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb