Second Week in Alicante


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

DSCN2317DSCN2317DSCN2317

Some delicious ice cream lisa and I got on monday. We tried to go to a museum but it was closed so we got ice cream instead. soo good!!
I can't believe this is my second week here. Time sure is flying by. On the other hand it also feels like I've been here forever. Things are going well. This week has been pretty normal with nothing too exciting happening except for the strike yesterday!!

There was a rumor that there was going to be a strike at the school and class would be canceled. I secretly didn't think this dream would ever come true but it did!! We got to school yesterday and it was deserted. All the buildings were locked so we met our teachers at the USAC office. I guess there is some new law that is cutting the wages of public workers so they were protesting. We went to a cafeteria on campus with our teachers and we got a free breakfast!! The teachers still gave us some homework for the night but we got to leave right after. I felt like a free bird. I totally took advantage of my free time. Lisa and I did a little bit of shopping in the morning. Everything here is so cute I could buy it all but I used my self control. i bought some cute
DSCN2320DSCN2320DSCN2320

a group of us at a bar on tuesday night.
skirts, a dress, and some new shoes!! European fashion is so different but I really like it. I spent the rest of the day relaxing at the beach and doing homework.

As you may know soccer is big deal here in Spain as well as most of Europe. I don't know much about soccer but I know the World Cup is coming up in July. My host grandma is huge soccer fan. Last night Barcelona played Poland and she practically rushed through dinner because the game was on. I watched it with her for a half hour and she was so cute. She is 88 years old but she got so into it. She would cheer every time they scored or got close to scoring. Spain ended up winning 6-0. I think if I watched it more I could get really into it.

So Monday night I had something pretty interesting for dinner...in Spanish its called pulpo which translates into octopus! It was a seafood dish that reminded me of a pasta salad flavor without the pasta. Lisa and I looked up pulpo in the dictionary and we screamed. It tasted good it, was more of a mental
DSCN2324DSCN2324DSCN2324

roomies!
thing. Our mom and grandma just laughed at us. Its these little experiences that make me really glad i decided to do home stay. I feel I am learning so much more about the culture and eating such different foods than if I chose to live in an apartment. I can't believe it is the second week already...its flying by.

Miss everyone. Hope all is well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

DSCN2297DSCN2297
DSCN2297

the first time I road the underground tram system on Sunday to go to San Juan Beach
DSCN2306DSCN2306
DSCN2306

on the tramvia


10th June 2010

Sangria and ice cream
Hi Sam...your Mom sent me the link to your blog and I have been spending the morning reading all of your entries. Your trip so far looks absolutely Faboooooolus! What could be better than Sangria and ice creamm in Spain? Great writing and I look forward to reading more. LUV, Mrs. elmore

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb