Day Seven if the Camino


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre
August 27th 2017
Published: August 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Estella to Los Arcos - 21.5 km at 28C.

Today started early waking at 5:30 am with everyone else and out the door by 6.

The markers leading the way are not very evident in a couple of places as you leave Estella, so be sure to bring a powerful LED headlamp. You won't regret that $35 purchase from MEC. (I don't get commission). Once you've made your way into the usual gravel trails, it's clear sailing. I ran across a huge party still raging at 7:04 am. You could hear it across the valley. These Spaniards know how to party!

The way to Los Arcos is pretty easy relative to earlier stretches I've done. Not much in the way of hills and quite scenic until you reach Villamayor de Monjardin. Once here, it should be stressed this is the last major water source until Los Arcos. There is one fountain somewhere along the way, but I didn't stop to top up as I had all I can handle. The homestretch from Villamayor de Monjardin to Los Arcos is like desert. Almost like you're hiking close to Oysoyoos.
Luckily the sky was overcast and somewhat cooler than it has been. Some rain did fall and I put my pack cover on but that's it. Cool rain felt so good.

Interesting/ disturbing observation. It seemed that every time I passed a vineyard, the air reeked of raw sewage. Every time. Makes me wonder...

Reached Los Arcos at 1 pm and hit one of the local albergue and checked in. Travel note - if you want authentic Spanish food do not eat along the Camino. Get off the beaten path and eat where you see lots of older locals.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.2761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb