Days Eight to Eleven


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » La Rioja
August 31st 2017
Published: August 31st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Los Arcos to St. Dominic de la Calzara - approx 80 km

Weather for the last few days has been good. Not much scorching sunshine and generally overcast. I've been trying to get up at an early hour to take advantage of the cooler mornings.

Couple of things are starting to annoy me a little about this trek. #1 If I get up early to avoid the heat AND get suitable accommodation at the next stop, I can't enjoy half my hike as it's in the dark, and; #2 I'm too bagged when I get to the next stop to get all my chores (laundry, shower, shopping) to see the sights that each stop has to offer!

Los Arcos area has to be the Napa Valley of Spain. So much wine and so little time. Definitely coming back to this place. The next few places all seem to be running together in my head now so I'll have to be more diligent about documenting my destinations.

I'm currently in St. Dominic de la Calzara. I'm staying in a 500 year old nunnery. Walked down to the cathedral and paid my 3€ (pilgrim price) and toured the whole building. Lots of art from many different periods throughout the areas history. Many depictions of Saint Roch and Saint Sabastien. Not up on my saints so tonight's entertainment will Googling these two gentlemen.

Tomorrow it's onto Belorado, 23 km uphill all the way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb