alone, together or in group.....


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre
September 11th 2014
Published: September 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Just woke up from a quick nap. It s really hot here today and I am happy I am not walking in this. I am starting to like the heat better and better, considering I ve always been a snow guy that should be a good thing....

When I woke up I got a message that made me think about my travels so far here in Spain. Thr first two days of my journey I ve taken alone. The trip from Antwerp all the way to St Jean was long and lonely. Looking out the window of the train, and the joy and anticipation of what was to come was really hard for me not to share with someone. After day one on the trail, Thomas introduced me to the group of women from Germany and so began my week of walking with a group.

The beauty of having a select group of friends on the Camino is that you never walk alone, during those hard days, when everything hurts, you always have someone to rely on. The other way around counts as well. As many know I live to help others so when someone else had a bad day I could always be counted on to support and help them through it.

The downfall of a select group like that is that people have to leave or move on. This is something I ve always struggled with in the real world and has been something that has gone through my head during the last couple days multiple times. Thomas has been amaaing to travel with, don't get me wrong, but some of the other personalities we had in the group have been missed by me a lot. Building strong connections, while keeping yourself from being hurt when they disappear is definetly something I am going to have to work on in the next months. I am hoping the Camino will teach me the skills to do so.



Anyone that has not made this journey through spain, probably will have a hard time understanding how a simple 24km a day can make you look inside real deep. This journey is all about you, not the distance, the people around, nature, .... only. I ve already felt a stronger connection with myself and the things I want to change in my life and relationships... mostly through my conversations with Lena, who has been an incredible inspiration to my life changes, eventhough we met a week ago and she is not in Spain anymore. She brought her own backpack of life questions and I hope she got some of the answers as well, just like I am starting to find mine.



Anyway, I am sure this blog will continue to be a mixture of impressions, life lessons, future choices I will make and past choices I will question and resolve...

Hope it helps you understand my journey... sharing it most certainly helps me....

Advertisement



15th September 2014

Opening up and letting go
Yes, the Camino is about you! How we open up to others, letting them into our hearts, and then feel/allow the sadness and grief to wash through us when they leave, and then be open to the next person we meet. I walked the Camino 11 years ago when I'd already traveled a LOT and wasn't young like you, and walked in pain because I used to run down mountains. Still the Camino was maybe the best experience of my life--I learned so much about myself and how I am with myself alone and with others. Clearly, you're going to have a great pilgrimage.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb