last day in Los Arcos...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre
September 11th 2014
Published: September 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday we decided to spend one more day in what has been the best Albergue so far, Casa de Austria.... best staff, great beds, beautiful house, .... this was day 3 in this hostel so we felt quite at home already. Left the hostel at 830am to have them clean and returned a little later and waited in the beautifull front terras till noon for it to reopen. No hassle to get back in. The hospitaliero even smiled and said, dont have to show you guys around right?

We sat outside with a german beer in hand, while Thomas played the guitar. Started talking to the pilgrims that were arriving about dinner. We had a big table of 21 the night before. today promised to be even bigger. Everyone offered to help with grocery shopping with me or cooking with Thomas. We already knew the stores wouldnt reopen until 6pm from their siesta, so we had plenty time getting to know the new group of pilgrims. Lots of Americans in this group. And again a lot of Germans or German speaking people. My German is getting better and better, the understanding part that is. I just reply in English....

It s always such a good time reliving the stories of the original group, the parties we had in every city, the wine fountain situation, the camino rules, .... only been here 9 days and I feel I have a lifetime of experiences. I miss that original group though. Something about them. It was a much younger group, very pleasant, always laughing and singing... It will be hard to find those kinds of people again... I miss my walking and talking partner, Lena, the most out of all of them. The conversations we had, regardless of the topic always made me smile or think, ... I was happy I got to talk to her briefly yesterday over messenger. I d sell my left arm for one smile of hers right now...

Before we went to bed we decided to give tomorrow a go. Doesnt matter how far we get, next city or end of the stage.... so went to bed in time to be ready by 630am again...

Advertisement



15th September 2014

Photos!
Sounds like you're having a proper Camino! Much better than when I did it when there were no hostels and only either the municipal dorms or expensive hotels, and you could only stay one day. How fine you're still in touch with Lena--life is long! Hey. what about photos--get someone to help you figure out how to download them to whatever you're blogging on--we want to see your images! Go for it!

Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb