Sandals All The Way To Santo Domingo de Calzada


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » La Rioja » Santo Domingo de la Calzada
September 28th 2016
Published: September 28th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today I walked the 21 kms to Santo Domingo in sandals to take the pressure from my feet. It seems to have worked; well, they're no worse ! We walked 7kms to Azofra before stopping for breakfast , tortilla and coffee, and rested for a while before starting again. I am now changing socks 3 times a day to keep my feet dry.

We constantly passed through vineyards and tomorrow leave the La Rioja province and enter the Burgos region. Our second break was at Cirueña , a town with expensive housing estates and a first class golf course, with very few residents. I didn't see any; just 'For Sale' signs. This is a prime example of the declining Spanish economy and nothing has changed since 2 years ago. We had a snack at Bar Jacobi on the edge of town and their contempt of their customers hasn't changed in 2 years.

The final 6.5 kms into Santo Domingo De Calzada downhill was mainly on rubble and made your feet pretty hot. I think things are improving and hopefully we dance our way into Burgos in 3 days time.

The talk I'm hearing at the moment, right now, from the next room is about bedbugs. Well, without evidence, except a commentary on the cleanliness of this place ( it ain't no Hilton !), it's a dead argument. As I lie here and scratch myself, all this negativity is starting to bug me!

We have walked 221kms in 9 days so far and the slow pace is becoming pretty natural and enjoyable. If the feet were good it would be ideal. I miss family, as I expected to, but to quote the late, great Mr. John Wayne, " A man' gotta do, what a man's gotta do!" . How is Ezra anyway ? Well that's about it. Maybe a bit tomorrow on how the Dutch are actually funnier than I thought. Good night, don't let the bed bugs bite, ha !


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Our BathroomOur Bathroom
Our Bathroom

Shared by 13 people, the Hilton it ain't !
The ParadorThe Parador
The Parador

I Wish !
How true!How true!
How true!

Without pain, you have not walked the Camino


29th September 2016

Good to see the Spanish lessons are paying off with your translations :-)
29th September 2016

Si, Hablo Español, poco.
Been very handy, particularly when reading signs, menus etc. Just wish I could read the recharge deals Orange are offering me.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb