Far have I travelled and much have I seen Dark distant mountains with valleys of green Past painted deserts the sunset's on fire As he carries me home to the mull of Kintyre


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia
July 3rd 2014
Published: July 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

July 3rd - Salceda to Villamaior



Had a great nights sleep - slept in til 7:30 - went down to bar and ordered a Spanish omelette ( got it this time) and a side of tomatoes and a cclg - the Spanish can't compete with the French for omelettes - this one has no extras, is far from fluffy and over cooked - I devour anyway - the tomatoes are fresh and flavourful - I add olive oil and vinegar - very good for dipping the great fresh bread.



My goal today is to walk to Villamaior - about 20k - this will leave me a short 10k walk into Santiago in the morning - I want to make it in time to get my Compostela and attend the noon Friday mass.



The majority of today's walk is through large stands of eucalyptus again. There are many demanding climbs and it is very humid today - no rain thankfully. I would expect no less for my 2nd to final walk.



About half way on I stop at a bar and order a hamburger and chips and a cclg. My first hamburger in over 25 years - it comes on a fresh bun with onions, lettuce and tomato - I add mustard and ketchup. It is gone in a few minutes - very good- very messy on the beard - can't wait to get home and shave - maybe leave the moustache - maybe a goatee..



I have a good walk today - I concentrate on the scenery - very much like Ottawa's countrysides - many corn fields and long grasses and stretches of trees. I am also trying to avoid the rocks on the "natural " pathways - I need to rest several times to hydrate and air out my boots.



I try to reflect on the walk so far and try not to anticipate how it will feel to enter Santiago.



I make it to my destination and get a decent room and do a hand wash and take a much needed shower. I head to the lobby to start booking a place to stay in Santiago and book a train out of Santiago. I have heard back from my agent. I am leaving 4 days early. I will fly home on the seventh of July. In the end I must listen to my feet - the Camino has been here for hundreds of years and will be here long after I am gone - it will be here if I decide to come back - and if I do I know what I will need to do to prepare properly this time. The new blisters I have acquired and the condition of my feet in general need to be addressed.



I go to the little local store and get a couple of nectarines for tomorrow and some chocolate for tonight. I love treats.



I head down to the pilgrim's supper at eight. Invite myself and sit with a teacher from the states. This is his third Camino - he has also completed the Camino Portuguese. We tell a few stories - he tells me about his son in the Marines and his own years of service. We talk about tomorrow.



I have been very fortunate to walk with and talk to many fellow pilgrims on the Camino. If you walk with someone long enough you will inevitably hear their real reasons for walking the Camino - we all have them. The Camino is a haven where the truth can be told. I have never asked anyone why - but if I am told I listen making no comments unless asked. Some reasons are simple - such as a personal goal or joy of walking - some are heartbreaking / some sad / - the human condition. I let you know this kind reader as it is another gift from this walk - over and above and in addition to the stories and laughs we share with our fellow pilgrims.



I eat a nice lightly breaded fish with boiled potatoes drizzled in olive oil and steamed vegetables - natural yogurt for dessert and some Vino tinto. Another good meal devoured.



I head to my room at 9:30 - want an early start tomorrow - my final walk.



Piss off of the day - humidity



Tip of the day - never leave your room window open if there is a cattle farm close by - especially if you have pissed off your bovine friends recently. I left my window open to get more circulation for my hand wash - spent 1/2 hour getting rid of flies when I got back from supper - cows are vengeful lot...



Blessing of the day - a nice shower after a humid walk



Funny event of the day - someone tells me there is a live webcam focused in on us pilgrims as we arrive into Santiago - if you know your exact time of arrival you can advise loved ones so they can see you cross the finish line - I plan to be there at about 10am - 4 am Ottawa time - I expect you all to be watching


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



4th July 2014

Great on you Keith!
Your journey is an emotional & quite funny one to read. You need to give yourself a pat on the back. You will forever be changed by this; thanks again for keeping a journal for all of us. I'm sure many people have become very introspective reading them. Love & hugs to you from us in Playa! Sal n' Al xo
4th July 2014

Great on you Keith!
Your journey is an emotional & quite funny one to read. You need to give yourself a pat on the back. You will forever be changed by this; thanks again for keeping a journal for all of us. I'm sure many people have become very introspective reading them. Love & hugs to you from us in Playa! Sal n' Al xo
4th July 2014

Congratulations!
You should be very proud of the walk you have done, we are proud of knowing someone that has struggled, perservered and forged forward wnen many times you wanted to quit. This is something you remember and cherish for the rest of your life and we were very nappy to travel from afar with you. Safe trip home and looking forward to seekng you and hearing more stories.
4th July 2014

I have so enjoyed your blog!
Oh no...I just realized that your blog will come to an end. We have so enjoyed reading it each day. Thanks so much. You have inspired us to go do this for sure.
6th July 2014

WOW!
Keith, do not be disappointed in yourself. You have accomplished what many of us would not have the courage to try. You should be so proud of everything you have achieved on this journey. I will miss the blogs but I can't wait to hear more of your stories in person.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb