(4) Castrojeriz to Boadilla del Camino


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
October 13th 2006
Published: October 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Another early (ish) startAnother early (ish) start
Another early (ish) start

Which for me is about 8am. There´s a selection of peregrinas who have had breakfast, prayer (yes, I said prayer) and are out the door before sparrows fart.
But SO worth it...But SO worth it...
But SO worth it...

Moon and sun, saying hello and goodbye.
Listening to Aphex Twin - for Eilan!Listening to Aphex Twin - for Eilan!
Listening to Aphex Twin - for Eilan!

Victory, Victory for Kath! Only including this photo coz it reminds me that my Ipod was charged again after five days carrying the stupid thing around when it wasn't charged.
It's inevitable.It's inevitable.
It's inevitable.

I WILL be the old lady dressed in rags pushing around a shopping trolley followed by numerous stray dogs. Morning tea on a lovely, lovely walk in which I met some awesome Dutch people. If you ain´t Dutch, you ain´t much! Or so the saying goes.
Love is in the air...Love is in the air...
Love is in the air...

This gorgeous couple couldn't keep their hands off each other. Every hundred metres they'd have to stop and hug. Ohhh...
I'm so wronwry...I'm so wronwry...
I'm so wronwry...

It's a little bit like being by yourself a lot.
Eco-friendly Spain...Eco-friendly Spain...
Eco-friendly Spain...

Can you see the wind generators in the background? Today was full of them - I'm a fan. Pun intended.
My other new mate Juan Jose MariaMy other new mate Juan Jose Maria
My other new mate Juan Jose Maria

Yeah, out here you're either Juan Hose Maria, Jose Maria or Juan Antonio. Sometimes, if you're lucky, you're Pablo.
Boadilla del CaminoBoadilla del Camino
Boadilla del Camino

This was the albergue where I spent the night before my thirtieth. Yee-haw, it was an oasis in the middle of f*cking nowhere. There is a Don Juan out here called Eduardo who has long flowing hair, and rides a horse out to the plateau to greet the peregrinas as they come in - complete with open shirt and a saddle on his shoulder. What more could you want after a long days walk but a thorough, side splitting laugh at that sight? I think I offended him...
More pretty churches and stuffMore pretty churches and stuff
More pretty churches and stuff

In the town of Boadilla del Camino, where as mentioned, I officially reached middle age. YES PEN, I heard you. Fair enough, I guess it IS your turn to point and laugh.
Checking for blisters...Checking for blisters...
Checking for blisters...

...with my mate. He understood my pain.
Nowhere landNowhere land
Nowhere land

And posing like an idiot. Lucky there is no-one in this town under 90 who could see me.
Another church that was beautifulAnother church that was beautiful
Another church that was beautiful

It's such a pity I just don't agree with what is taught in them.
Crawfy's wistful look of youth...Crawfy's wistful look of youth...
Crawfy's wistful look of youth...

... the last known photo of her as a 29 year old.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb