Arca to Santiago


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
June 27th 2015
Published: June 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today is our last day of riding. We had a great night sleep. Woke up to cloudy weather. Headed out following the pathway. It begin to climb just outside of town. There are quite a few large groups on the path. At 2.5 miles we stop and eat breakfast. I am feeling little anxious. We have a short ride but expect it take extra time riding the trail. After breakfast the trail climbs. Seriously, Spain is not flat!!! I had to walk because I thought my breakfast might come up. Got to a spot were it leveled off. Back in the bike. Traveling through small town after small town. Some of the climbs I am being encouraged with words of "animal"! I guess they are impressed with my climbing skills. After 14 days of riding, I can pretty much tackle anything. The sun is peeking through the clouds, I can feel the city is getting closer. There is a long descend into the city limits. We stop and take photos at the city sign. We attempt to ride on the sidewalks into town. It s very busy. We decide to walk our bikes. I look up as we are traveling on
The CathedralThe CathedralThe Cathedral

Under construction
cobble stone and there is the backof the cathedral. Continuing down the path through a tunnel and steps we arrive at the front of the cathedral. There are many people there, hugging, high fiving, taking pictures and just standing in awe. A journey complete. We take a few photos, absorb the ambience of the moment an ahead to get our compestela. The only allow so many per day, I wanted to make sure we received ours. At the p pilgrims office there is a line. It takes us 45 minutes for us to approach the office. Inside we present our American passports and our pilgrim passports. The lady stamps our pilgrim passports, has us fill out a form and presents us with our certificate of completion. I feel very proud of our adventure. Not only of the ride but the power of accomplishment. Sweat, tears and determination got us through to the end. As a couple we have grown too. Having married my best friend I am so excited to have shared this adventure with him. We rode 475 miles in two weeks from Pamplona to Santiago. Now it's time to find our hotel and relax!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Compostela Compostela
Compostela

Certificate of completion


27th June 2015

Congratulations on having completed the Camino...
I've enjoyed following your journey, and now look forward to completing my own next year.
30th June 2015

Thank you
I have read a few post on your blog. Admiring you easy flow and writing style. Although I am starting later in life with my travels I too have caught the travel bug.
28th June 2015

Hurray!!!!!!!!
Oh my gosh! There are no words just tears at what you just finished! You've always been strong and determined! Way to push through another milestone in your life! Love you tons!
29th June 2015

Congratulations!!
Bienvenida a Compostela! I have loved reading about your camino, it is an incredible accomplishment!
30th June 2015

Thank you
It was quite an accomplishment and journey.
30th June 2015

I was hoping that the Camino wasn't the last we would hear from you...
glad to see you caught the travel bug, so we can expect to hear more from you. I was also pleased to see you on the APOC FB forum...perhaps you saw that I posted your response to the cyclist behavior question. APOC pilgrims provide lots of great advice. I also see that denidax also followed you. I'm hoping we can connect on the Camino next year.

Tot: 0.42s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb