I´ve arrived!!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
October 7th 2010
Published: October 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thursday 7th October

Well here I am...finally in Santiago!!! Amazing!!! I can´t believe I have walked over 800kms with my 10kg backpack and staying in albergues all the way! What a great feeling!!

I was up bright and early this morning. Some people in our room decided they would get up at 6am and were sooo noisy. So that was it for me... I had no choice but to get up too. But to be honest, it was probably a good thing, as it meant I ended up in Santiago in time to get my bed sorted and go to the pilgrams mass.

I woke up Juan Manual,, and once we were ready we had breakfast and hit the road. The noisy people from the morning ended up being on the road with us. Which, at first I thought was a problem, but my torch died on the way and it was still pretty dark, so we used their lights. All good.

I was feeling pretty crowded by Juan this morning....it´s weird how people are really connecting in with me very quickly at the moment. I needed some space and was keen to walk in to santiago on my own. So I told him I was heading off.

I walked and walked and walked to get there. It unfortunately, wasn´t my best day. The vibe has totally changed now that there are so many tourists on route. It started raining just as I came into Santiago....of course...start in the rain and finish in the rain!

Wow....what a gorgeous city!! Amazing!!

Found my albergue. P the girl who is on reception is great. Sooo helpful. I couldn´t check into my room to start...which was just fine...as I was keen to go to the pilgrams mass at the cathedral. I had to que to get in, and the cathedral was packed...but it was a nice service. I had a look around the cathedral and then went to find the office of the peregine to get my compostella and drop off Jacobs sweatshirt. I had to que again...but not for long.

Back to the albergue...showered...had a great pilgams meal at the place next door and then here I am on the internet.

Will update on the last three days another time. Sx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0935s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb