Mis Amigas


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
October 25th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Behind FonsecaBehind FonsecaBehind Fonseca

This is the view from my room.
Hola Everyone!
This week has gone by so quickly! The weather is still inexplicably beautiful; I haven’t been caught in a rain storm yet.
Now that I have my schedule finalized, I can see how the semester will go. The classes aren’t too difficult, but I do have quite a few on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. I think my favorite class is Introduction to Comparative Literature. Last class we talked about the difficulties of adapting plays into movies. We also discussed the prevalence of Shakespeare in pop culture. We got to watch an interpretation of Hamlet on The Simpsons and an episode that referenced Romeo and Juliet of Home Improvement during the class! I think I was one of the only ones laughing at The Simpsons because it was in English and most of the class didn’t understand.
There are a lot of cultural events here and I try to take advantage of them when I have free time. Last week I went a film festival and saw short films (about 10 minutes each) from different countries. There is a photo display in the old part of town that seems interesting; I’ll probably check that out this week. I really would
Hanna and her roommateHanna and her roommateHanna and her roommate

Hanna (left) is from South Korea and studies Spanish, like me. Her roommate Laura a first year Psychology student.
like to take a tour of the cathedral (which includes climbing up in the main tower). That costs about $10, but I think it would be worth it if only for the photo ops 😊.
My roommate and I found out that the university gym is roughly 40 seconds away from where we live. It’s quite affordable too, so I will definitely check that out.
Here are some pictures of me with my friends. I think it’s great to know international students and Spanish students. The international students understand the whole experience of trying to adjust to a new culture, because they’re dealing with the same issues themselves. It’s also really interesting to learn about their countries. My roommate and I notice many differences between English and “American English.” I love to hear about Finland and South Korea because they are so different from Maine, and I haven’t really read a lot about those countries.
The Spanish people I’ve met are so warm and helpful. My academic advisor told me how wonderful the Spanish people are, and I would definitely agree with her. Even though it’s sometimes difficult for me to keep up with the conversation, it’s a great way
In and RobinIn and RobinIn and Robin

In (left) is here to work on a pharmaceutical project and Robin (from Portland, Maine) is studying Biology and Spanish.
to practice (and they’re always willing to repeat and explain things I don’t understand).
The last pictures are of people from my language class. I don’t really know them that well, but they are very friendly and we have a good time during class.
Well, I can’t think of much else to say right now. This weekend, I plan to get some much needed rest, work on homework, and find a more direct route to North Campus (where my classes are). Thanks for the comments on the blog…it’s so nice to hear from all of you. Send me an email and tell me what you’re all up to. Hope all is well.

Abby



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Alexandra, Ursula, and meAlexandra, Ursula, and me
Alexandra, Ursula, and me

That's me, with Ursula and Alexandra (two of my Spanish friends). Everyone says Ursula looks like Avril Lavigne, but she doesn't like the comparison.
Sinead and HannaSinead and Hanna
Sinead and Hanna

Sinead (left) is my roommate from England. She is studying History. She is also very good at cooking salmon (which I interrupted to take this picture).
Alexandra and meAlexandra and me
Alexandra and me

Alexandra and me.
Essie and JoanaEssie and Joana
Essie and Joana

Essie (left) is from Finland and works in the tourism office here in Santiago. Joana is from Portugal and is studying Biology.
Ursula and CandiUrsula and Candi
Ursula and Candi

Candi is Joana's roommate, and she is a first year student studying Pre-med.
Fonseca girlsFonseca girls
Fonseca girls

Sinead, Joana and me.
Going out with the Language ClassGoing out with the Language Class
Going out with the Language Class

Some of the people from my language class...I think most of the people in this picture are from Poland.


1st November 2007

Yada yada yada bonjour
I hope you are enjoying your Facebook ETS...haha. The pictures look really cool (of Spain, not Chlamydia). You look happy too. A picture is worth a thousand words, anyway. How many postcards would that be? I had no trick-or-treaters this evening. :-( When you see me next, I may be waddling due to all the candy I've ingested tonight. Don't say anything. :-p Do they celebrate Halloween in Spain at all?

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb