Day 44 : Last Day In Santiago: Shopping, Cathedral Roof Tour, Big Seafood Lunch, Airport.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
November 2nd 2018
Published: November 2nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Never buy an extra bag allowance from Vueling Airlines unless you are intending to import a small car as hand luggage.

My €20 extra was because I am carrying a backpack that does not comply with the size or weight limits. What a joke! People were boarding with backpacks with sleeping rolls attached that were way out of the tiny requirements of Vueling. They are larger than mine. I’ve been duped.

I have a personal theory on flight luggage allowances. I think each seat should have a weight allowance, comprised of the combined passenger and luggage weight. If you are tiny, bring all your stuff, but if you are solid, or tall , this is taken into account and excess weight may apply.

Planes fly on weight, fuel costs are higher, user pays.

If this seems unfair, book a bag through, only to see the rules flouted by the airport staff who turn a blind eye.

Next, has anyone else sat next to a dog on an aircraft.

I’m not being unkind to anyone here; I’m sitting next to a small dog in a cage. This pup broke wind before we even taxied out to
Quiet Atmosphere Very Near The Main District.Quiet Atmosphere Very Near The Main District.Quiet Atmosphere Very Near The Main District.

Behind San Martin Pinario, the Camino is not a tourist hub.
the runway. Although, to be fair to the dog, the impish grin on its owner’s face, suggested it may not be the guilty party. Unfortunately, Paris is still 2 hours away.

To cap it off, the air hostess has given me the job of sorting out the emergency door over the wing, as I’m sitting next to it. All I understood was something about the green ‘ running man sticker’ next to the door, and once I find Tim, that’ll be us. I will add emergency rescue skills to my CV.

Back to Santiago. Have I even mentioned it ?

After a little sleep in this morning, we showered and appeared in the breakfast room at 8am. Outside the sun was shining, 17°c was the forecast, and we were joining a group of Spaniards for the spanish language Roof Top Tour Of The Cathedral. It was the only one available.

I caught up with Kenny Taylor this morning. I was returning from the bank and we almost walked into each other. Ken has had another successful Camino, went to Finisterre, and also managed a couple of days in O Porto in Portugal . We both agreed it’s getting tougher as the years pass, but Ken’s older than me, so he has a right to feel like that. He’s probably got a few more in him though, and he only has to travel from Scotland. I don’t know anyone who has walked it more than Ken. It’s a pity our paths didn’t cross more often this trip.

I did some last minute shopping, had morning tea at the nicest cafe I’ve been in for years, and then climbed the tight, steep staircase to the roof of the Cathedral.

Tim was able to follow the guides long and detailed description of various aspects of the towers, Cathedral history and its construction, but all I could do was look intently, nod occasionally, so she didn’t know I was clueless.

Nearing the end of a particularly long talk, came the inevitable “Pregunta?” Questions?

Only one person asked a question; Tim.

From the detailed long reply, I can only surmise that he asked, “ What did you say after, ‘Good morning ?”

If you are ever in Santiago, I can highly recommend this tour, in your native language. I did the English version 2 years
Bar Costa VellaBar Costa VellaBar Costa Vella

Lovely, quiet bar, off the main tourist beat. A great Last morning tea .
ago, so I had some idea of the rooftop features that were described in Spanish this year.

This tour provides the best views around the old town , and the guides really are experts on the Cathedral and Santiago’s history.

Lunch was Tim’s treat to me, and he chose a popular, highly regarded restaurant at the Main Produce Market. They provided a menu that was determined by what fresh seafood was available at the market that day.

We had the set price general menu, and ate scampi, cockles, mackerel on a little crisp bread burger, hake, pulpo, and large slabs of seasoned calamari served with charred onions. A small dessert followed.

It’s the best seafood meal I’ve ever eaten, and the staff, all dressed in white, all bearded, worked with an efficiency, and from memory, that you rarely see in Melbourne. It’s interesting to see Spanish people teaching their small children how to dismantle and eat some of these foods, and I’m sure Tim and I didn’t draw the full value out of the scampi, the way the children did.

Well, we are beginning our descent into Paris, I’ve successfully and mindfully blocked the farting dog from my life for the last 2 hours, and I should just be grateful; it could have been much worse.

I’ll have a think about what the last 7 weeks has all been about for me. Was it just a long walk, or did I work through a few ideas and issues that have hijacked my life in the past.

I do know one thing. The support you get from family and friends in life is reflected in the same way from strangers and new friends on the Camino. You don’t do very well without it, and any opportunity for thanks should be taken.

It’s 11.30 pm and we are now in Paris, at our Appartment for 4 days. It’s a dodgy area by night, but great by day; the owner’s words, not mine. There are also 2 old arches like an Arch De Triumph but smaller. He told us the large one is at a street of cafes and restaurants, but the small one is a prolific red light area. It was a word of warning, not a recommendation. Sue and I walked down this street earlier this year, and by day it’s lively, and a popular hangout for the locals.

This area is near the main stations, and at 10.30 when we arrived, they are reasonably uncomfortable places to be. Young men just hanging out in groups, seemingly with nowhere to go, but maybe it’s no worse than some places in Melbourne.

Tim has a programme of things to do that we might follow, but we’ll see how we go.

Bye for now. S


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 26


Advertisement





Dining Hall, Cathedral Dining Hall, Cathedral
Dining Hall, Cathedral

From the look on the man’s face, you can tell I’m not meant to have a camera out. An innocent mistake.
Cathedral Roof Tour, Santiago Cathedral Roof Tour, Santiago
Cathedral Roof Tour, Santiago

The best €10 you’ll spend in town.

People On The RoofPeople On The Roof
People On The Roof

Gives the roof size a bit of perspective.
Cathedral Roof And Clock TowerCathedral Roof And Clock Tower
Cathedral Roof And Clock Tower

Considered to be the most important tower of the church.
Celtic Cathedral Celtic Cathedral
Celtic Cathedral

Santiago’s Cathedral strongly displays the regions celtic past.
Busy Staff, Abastos 2.0Busy Staff, Abastos 2.0
Busy Staff, Abastos 2.0

Best seafood meal I’ve ever had. Pricey but it was worth the experience and the expense.


3rd November 2018

Perhaps just one more
Hi Steve, Great blogs continue, good to see that experience still has it over youthful enthusiasm. Enjoy Paris. Although I do remember Andrew describing Tim as the tour nazi. wishing you both health and happiness John PS say hi to Tim

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb