Bottom of the 9th


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Extremadura » Cáceres
April 21st 2007
Published: April 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

SpamalotSpamalotSpamalot

The Musical lovingly ripped off from the movie. The Laker girls were hilarious and yes, the French soldiers were my favorite. There were mini catapults for sale in the lobby that came with a whole variety of plastic animals to lob. How about that!
I can´t believe it! It´s almost time for me to go back stateside! I leave Spain in 11 days and Europe in 2 weeks. And, best of all, I probably have more work to get done now than I have had to do the past school year, but no worries. It will get done, one way or the other.

Just to update you, this semester has gone so fast! I went to London for 4 days over Semana Santa (Holy Week) the first week of April. It was gorgeous weather the days I was there and I had a lot of fun strolling through parks and museums and seeing Spamalot, The Monty Python Musical. I took a siesta in Kew Gardens on a bench among the daffodills (something I hear not too many people get to do), saw a spontaneous marching band march in and out of the Tate Modern Art Museum and the Rosetta Stone in the British Museum. It was very funny to me that my Spanish literature professor was down right indignent about the fact that it was better weather over Holy Week in London than in Spain. We had quite the rainy cold snap the first week of April, hard to cope with after a warm and sunny March. But now it is getting hot. Maybe 80 degrees and plenty of sun, so nothing to complain about.

Well, this is just an update to let you all know that I am alive and well and just can´t wait to get back! I have been eating way too much peanut butter (sent from home) in my moods of, man I just want to go home now, so I think that´s a sign of ready to get back!

We had holiday Monday, it was St. George´s Day, don´t you know and St. George is the patron saint of Cáceres. So, there was a parade, a recreation battle between Christians and Moors and then the burning of a huge cardboard dragon in the plaza mayor. We showed up at start time and the Plaza Mayor was so full of people that you couldn´t walk. Nor could we see much, unfortunately. We saw the burning (glad we weren´t in the first row for that one) but we couldn´t see the soldiers and stuff because the people were just packed in there and if you weren´t over 6´2, you didn´t really have a chance of seeing anything.

Last week of class and a few more projects and then I am done. I have a final for my Mitología Clásica asignatura on Thursday, so I will find out first-hand what a Spanish 2.5 hr final test looks like. Oh joy. I just hope the mythological people the professor picks out aren´t super obscure. That would just be bad.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb