Madrid-Segovia


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
October 18th 2004
Published: October 18th 2004
Edit Blog Post

SegoviaSegoviaSegovia

Acueducto in Segovia..looks unreal between the buildings
It has been a little over a week since I arrived in Madrid. I´m trying to take it easy here because Barcelona took away all my energy and strength. I tried to avoid anything cultural this past week, unfortunately I still ended up at Reina Sofia museum. The museum has a nice collection of modern art, the same guys as always dominated the collection such as Picasso, Miro, Dali. I preffered the collection of Miro in this museum rather than the one in Barcelona, it was mostly his latest works which are no more than a dot and a line usually. It´s funny to see the progression of his works, it only took him 50 years to arrive at the style of a dot and a line. The Reina Sofia is home to Picasso´s infamous Guernica painting and it was nice to see it after seeing all the sketches..bla bla in Barcelona´s Museo Picaso. The painting is big, but is not as big as I imagined and it´s not as complex as it seemed to me before.

Although most people will probably be upset when reading this, I did something very spanish; I went to a bullfight. It was definetely
The bullfightThe bullfightThe bullfight

or the killing of the bull...at Plaza de Torros
a new experience. The bullfight or so called corrida was in Plaza de Toros and started at 5:30pm and ended for me at about 6:15 because I could not sit there any longer and witness the slow torture of the bulls. The plaza was full of people, there was no space to move. Mostly older men came to watch the fight, with an occasional tourist here and there. Throughout the event the men cheered as if they were watching a football game. I always thought that the bull was an ugly animal but when it came out onto the arena for some odd reason it looked beautiful. The first fight lasted unusually long and was making me feel very sick, so I left before seeing 5 more bulls get killed for sport. The bullfight show really pulls you in and I can´t help but start watching it when it´s on tv. But when I was sitting there in the arena, it was too real.

On to better things....Yesterday I had a nice trip to Segovia, which is a 2 hour train ride across the emptiness of Spain. Segovia is known for the Aqueduct and it was definetely worth going there to see it. The Aqueduct looked amazing (you´ll see the pics) and after a 20 minute walk to the end of the city we reached Alcazar, a beautiful castle just like in Disney World 😊

Hope everyone´s weekend was as good as going to Disney World, and if not, hope the next one is.




Advertisement



18th October 2004

Segovia
U-U-Uh, Segovia........... Cesar, Philip, and even Wolfrado........... El Acuaducto, El Alcazar, La Catedral............. I'm almost in tears :-) Did you see the cute little statue of the wolf and the Rome brothers that were raised by the wolf? I'm sooooooooooooo jelouse in a good way. I hope you're having a great time! I'm going to Chicago to fight this week (wed). When I come back, I will try to call u w/Alla to talk. I miss u. Chao for now.

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb