Sunny Madrid! First stop! It's Sangria time...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
July 1st 2016
Published: July 9th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The sun is there....and our romantic little trip is starting! Welcome to Sunny Spain! Our first stop, 24 hours in Madrid arriving in Barajas! I have slept all around and in every styles in Madrid, but this time, we are staying in one of the Grande Dame of the city, I name the Westin Palace Hotel. The place is packed, but still, I have to admit, pretty amazing service. Great stay, great welcome, and one of those breakfast you travel for!



We spent a lot of time walking around during our first afternoon. The Old Town is a truly gorgeous place to walk around, and to get lost. My mission for the aperitif, was to find back the place I had an amazing night some 23 years ago with a great group of student friends. I remember the bar was a cave type place, below the Plaza Mayor....we had a lot of tortillas and even more sangria....and the return to our student hostel that night had been a challenging experience! My love ask me if in general I do remember everywhere I have been. The answer is...generally yes! It took me few minutes, but we found back the place....the home of the tortillas! Enjoy the pictures. It was around 8pm....and we had a restaurant booking at 9.30pm, so we kept the first stop...smooth...



Next, Peru time! I wanted for few weeks a proper pisco sour...and no plans for Lima for us this summer! So Madrid being a big city, why not go for some peruvian fun. There is the restaurant of Astrid & Gaston, but I only wanted a pisco sour, and not to break the bank! So we were booked for a great pisco sour and some causas and ceviche! That was an evening...and already dead feet by the time we were back to our room at the end of our evening.



The Westin has an amazing breakfast, and as I'm lucky enough to have it for free, why not start the day with few bubbles and some nice egg benedictine with smoke salmon! Great breakfast! Next stop had to be the Prado museum. I forgot to pre-book our ticket online...so we had to queue a good 40 minutes. Once inside, the Prado is still amazing. I have to admit, I'm not a huge fan of Velasquez and Goya, but it doesn't stop me to find the place and the art amazing. Wonderful place to spend a good two hours, specially when outside, the temperature is hovering around or above 37 degrees!



We couldn't leave Madrid behind us without a little stop in one of my preferred shop, I name Carolina Herrera. It was already mid-afternoon, and time for me to pick up our rental car. Nice upgrade, and four hours drive to our next discovery. Over the next 6 days...I'll drive 1800km! We will drink few more Sangria. As you can guess, few more blogs to come, as far as I'm writing this, all with some gorgeous blue skies to come! What a summer so far...and we are just at the beginning of July!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



10th July 2016

Introductions are in order!!!
Have a great time in Spain. I'll be there starting with Barcelona on 5 Sep, walking the Camino de Santiago for five weeks. I guess our paths won't cross this time.
10th July 2016
Nice breakfast....with bubbles...

les bulles
Si je comprends bien tu ne prends les petits dejeuners que quand il y a des bulles... ! vais exiger ca dans mes prochaines réservations : en effet ce doit etre bien meilleur !

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb