Madness in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
May 27th 2013
Published: March 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Clockwise from top left:Clockwise from top left:Clockwise from top left:

Buen Retiro Park; Madrid City Centre; The Reina Sofia Museum; Royal Palace
There's nothing better than going on holiday with someone who either lives there or knows the city like the back of their hand. I was meeting my friend who was studying at Madrid's university for six months; having been there for quite a few months, he not only knew where to go, but he knew the student places- a.k.a- cheap to eat, drink and visit.

The house I stayed in was in the heart of Madrid; a balcony looking over the fairytale-like castle and gardens.

Obviously arriving late at night and going to bed wasn't the norm considering my surroundings- it was a Monday night so we obviously went out to a club. Another great thing visiting a university student- the usual going for a weekend away as you get to see a place on a Saturday night meant nothing when every weeknight was a party; guaranteed to be busy during term-time.

There were lots of people on their erasmus year in Madrid and our Monday spontaneous night out was just as atmospheric as the culture that represents the weekend.

I had a great host. Being the tourist “I wanna see everything that is recommended on TripAdvisor”, I was pleased I did get to see the Castle up close (with a bit of free of charge back story from my live-in tour guide) and a few awe-inspiring museums. Again, if it wasn't for the host, I wouldn't have known I could see the museums free of charge in a certain time slot. It wasn't advertised anywhere- it seemed to be a kept secret that you found out after a few Chinese whispers.

I didn't have to research where would be good to eat, I was spoilt with the best Tapas in the city; the best Sangria and the best Paella all at great prices and they were little nooks hidden away in the expensive city.

Obviously I can't forget my discovery of Frozen Yoghurt- Subway for the dessert lovers, which became my daily visit in the three days I was there.

The weather was a consistent hot sunny 26 degrees Celsius and over, so visiting Buen Retiro Park was the ideal haven; polished bright green grass; perfectly trimmed trees (an iconography of this impressively manicured park) and the stunning glass-like lake where students and locals alike chilled out in their bikinis. A idyllic hangout in the summer months. Don't forget the Real Madrid wearing aspiring footballers playing in the park, all adding to the ambience.

Although I've continuously referred to holidaying the student way, Madrid is worth a visit regardless, with the historical landmarks juxtaposed with the modern shopping district and quaint streets. Selling handmade gifts or fake Ray Bans and Louis Vuitton bags, these sellers would wrap up the goods in a blanket and escape down the streets if they saw a police officer. The sellers deemed to be dirtying the streets, but it added to the authenticity of the clustered winding streets and represented the hustle and bustle of the city.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb