Birthday in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 13th 2013
Published: June 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Thursday Evening 13th June 2013 8pm

My time in Madrid has almost drawn to a close. Tomorrow I move on to Toledo. I decided not to do a day trip from here but to go there for 2 nights and have a whole day in between.




My birthday, yesterday, was great. I spent the day wandering the Botanical Gardens and the main park which is HUGE! A great place for people watching. In the evening I joined a tour that included another coach ride around the sights - the guide pronunicated everything so carefully that she was boring! The highlight of the evening was a Flamenco show - incredible! An american couple and I were the only people on the tour that had dinner included - and we were seated right next to the stage and within reach of the sweat flying off the performers! There were 3 women and 1 man who danced together and solo. Their faces showed the passion of the dance, as well as their feet and hands. They were accompanied by 2 guitarists and 2 singers. We stayed for an extra show - and were left by the tour guide to make our own way back to our hotels. The streets were still alive with people when I walked there at midnight!



Today I used my ticket on the hop on hop off bus to do some of the things I had missed - the markets in San Domingo, Espana and Isbelle II Squares, the Eygptian Temple, the San Franciscan Gradens and lunch at San Miguel Markets. I also followed the directions from the Crumbled Map to a hidden gem of a garden, Jardine de Angolian. A real oasis behind a high fence with only a small entrance. A bought a few things to help me remember my fantastic time in Madrid - a amethyst pendant, a tigers eye 'gemini' pendant, a bracelet with crystals for each chakra and 2 dresses - one too short and the other a bit too plunging! I also had my haircut - now that was an experience - not for me but for the men in the barber shop! I returned to the place the guide from Tuesday, Jorge, had taken me and asked the boss if he would cut my hair - well mimed it! I explained that I wanted a number 8 clipper cut all over my head - men waiting were asking the barber what he was doing! It's a great cut - very short and thinned out - just the way I like it! Dad would be proud! When the barber was finished he told me that I had a lot of hair (well that's what i think he said!)! All for only 14 euros and 50 cents - that's about $20 AUS!!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb