Retun to Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 12th 2013
Published: June 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I returned to Madrid by train from Santiago on Sundayafternoon, arriving around 8:30pm. My lift to the hotel was in a Mercedes mini van, by a man who had greeted me with a sign with my name at the top of the escalator from the platform at the station. I felt pretty special! The Hotel Regina is at 19 Calle de Alacala, closer to the city centre than the hotel I stayed at when I first arrived. A very modern hotel, with a bar and a restaurant. I'm in the bar now, having cafe con leche (coffee with milk) and aqua con gas (sparkling mineral water). Two almonds biscuits have also been served - extra and at no cost. If I had ordered wine - blanca (white) or tinto (red) I would have been provided with some tapas.

Monday 10th June: I enjoyed a coach tour of the main sightseeing points of the city - only stopping at the bullfighting ring (a beautiful building!) and at the Hard Rock Cafe (for a 'free' drink and use of the toilet). Am american woman on the coach had been to a bullfight on Saturday night and had to leave after 3 bulls had been killled. Not for me! I'll just admire the outside of the building. There is a bronze stature of the scientist Fleming in the forecourt of the building. Fewer bull fighters die due to his discovery of penicilan! The coach part of the tour ended for me at the Bernabeu Stadium - the home of the soccer team Real Madrid. Eventhough I know very little about soccer, it was an interesting tour. You just followed the signs at your own pace through two museums, the press room, a small section of the seating and into the change rooms. I was hoping to see Beckham, Ronaldo or Kewell on a massage table or in the spa. But alas no!

I made my way back to the hotel by metro for a siesta, before going to the cinema to see 'Fast and Furious 6' - in Spanish! I could follow most of what was happening as the film has so many car chases and fighting! It's one way to go out and relax!

Tuesday 11th June: Today, Jorge (said as 'Hor - hay' in Spanish), led 3 of us - an Italian, an American and myself - on a walking tour of the Royal Palace and Hapsburgs' Madrid. This is the name given to Madrid when the Hapsburg (Austrian) dynasty reigned in Spain. George explained the history of the kingdoms and republics of Spain - as Spain is the only country to have twice become a republic but then taken back their royalty. The Royal Palace was bulit in the 18th century in the Baroque Italian style of the Austrians. It is magnificent - we walked through about 30 of the 1500 rooms! It was the official residence of the monarchy from 1765 to 1931, but now is only used for 'royal business' as the present king lives in a smaller palace outside of the city. It also included a museum of the armoury used during the middle ages - displaying that worn by both men and their horses! From the palace we walked through many small streets and alleyways, visiting a small church which had as an altar piece a 'vertical' painting of the Last Supper and where the nuns made an income by selling sweets, the longest continually run restaurant in the world (according to the Guinness Book of Records) and a barber shop - reminding me of dad. I may go back later in the week for a haircut! Our tour ended with a visit to the Plaza Mayor (main plaza) and the markets of San Miguel, where our guide bought us a drink at a bar and left us to decide on what to have for some lunch, being surrounded by fare from all over Spain.

I made my way to the post office, walking along the Paseo del Prado, through beautifully designed gardens in the centre of this busy road. My hips and knees were paining - this morning I felt great - so I walked up the hill, along the Calle de Alcala to the hotel for - guess what??? - a siesta!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb