Museum Day In Madrid, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
August 30th 2011
Published: August 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Woke up to some little #@&^ turning on the lights at 7 am. Im like really?? COMMON SENSE people are sleeping, Thats why you pack the night before and not stumble over things even with the lights on. Then He walks out and leaves the light on. AHH.

One hour later same guy comes back in... turns the light on AGAIN. Grabs more stuff and what does he doo???? Leaves and leaves the light on again, HAHA, I mean wow. Pretty much couldnt sleep after that. so went out and grabbed some good breakfast for a change then just cereal and bread at the Hostel.

Moving on from the morning... Went to the Royal Palace. I read online that you could take photos with out flash. Im thinking great. I get there NO PHOTOS PLEASE. Pretty disappointing. I mean the rooms in there were amazing. I wanted to be able to share it. But thats life. Some of the rooms just had porcelain covering the walls making it look like just one piece. Just pretty awesome rooms.

Side History note: This was not the the first royal palace they had in Madrid. The original stood in the very same place as the new one, but the king did not like the old one an the people begged him to not tear it down. So the king said ok... well I'm having a huge party at my villa outside of Madrid, free drinks and food all night. Well of course everyone wanted to go but little did they know when they came back to town after a long night of Fiesta. Some how the palace caught on fire. Apparently an accident but of course there was plenty of time for all the furniture to be removed before this ACCIDENT.

I also went to the Royal Palace art exhibition room which has some great paintings and medallions in.

My favorite of all was the Prado Muesuem. I THINK GOYA and VELAZQUEZ are FREAKING AWESOME.

I think the top 4 paintings I saw that I wish I could buy if I was a millionar would be, "Saturn Devouring his child" and "The third of May" by Goya...."Las Meninas" by Velazquez and " The Garden of Earthly Delights" by Bosch. I especially loved these painting because I remember studying about them when I took art history. Great Class by the way.

I ended the night walking up the Gran Via. The Gran Via is there NYC Broadway. They wanted to compete with being a more hipp and modern city so they went through and tore down all the old buildings and built Gran Via.

Well that was plenty for the day. My view definitely change after the two days but I still doing think I would live in that city.

Now I am off to the Train Station but an overnight train to Lisbon Portugal. Nighty night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb