Early Arrival in Lisbon


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
August 31st 2011
Published: September 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Goooood Morning Lisbon Portugal. Well I woke up on the overnight train at 630 am. Way to early to be up on vacation. Slept pretty well. AC was out for a little but other then that slept like a baby. Got to the Hostel, Royal Lisbon, around 8 am and ate some good CEREAL and BREAD. Always the same stuff, ha but hey you cant beat free food. Couldnt check in until 2 pm so I stored my bags in one of there safes and I was off for a walking tour. After doing about 4 walking tours through out Spain you start to hear alot of the same history which I like because I start to actually remember it. I really do enjoy history, I think when I settle down I will take some classes in History. (Yes you can add that to the list of desires in life).

There are two walking tours, One goes to the old side of town and the other goes to the new side of town. Today I went to the old side of town. Learned about the Major earthquake that hit here and devastated the economy. With that and kicking out all the non Christians put a good damper on the economy here, pretty much kicked out the hard workers and the financially smart people. It was a great scenic informative route. If only could remember all their names, Peter 1st, Peter 2nd, ......Peter 3992.

Unfortunalty after the tour the day ended for me because it started pouring hard and getting colder and as much as I like the rain, I really dont feel like taking any chance of getting sick on this trip.

The night in the Hostel was fun though... we all ordered pizza and drank wine. Few people ended up going out for the pub crawl but I was not going to be one of them. Last Pub crawl I did in Sevilla ended very very late and I pretty much slept my whole day away. So Since I had only two days here I opted to get some sleep and tour the city some more.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb