killed cockroach #2


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

This morning started off a little strangely when I went to pick up my laptop and a cockroach crawled out from under it... we've had a problem recently with them because of the climate here and there are many ways for them to get in because we live on the ground level of this apartment complex. ew. I don't think I'll ever get used to cockroaches! We all walk around in slippers hoping not to hear a crunch during the night.

Aside from the roaches, things have been going well. here is a photo album of a walk I took to la Plaza de Espana (about 15 minutes away from my house) http://s737.photobucket.com/albums/xx11/cmjohnston2/Plaza%20de%20Espana/


AFAs (my internship) blog is coming along as well as the communication plan, I have a meeting tomorrow with the director so hopefully we can work out a few more details about the articles I will be writing and the communications protocol that I'm in charge of. So far I've been given a lot of freedom in the project, which can be a good or bad thing, depending if I take it in the right direction! We'll see, it helps to check in with her to make sure I'm not straying too far off the target.

I bought a EURAIL pass today for four day trips in Spain and Italy. I will be going to Granada and Sevilla with mi amiga Silvia in mid June, and hopefully I can work out a trip to Italy to see the family before I have to go home, otherwise I can use the fourth day in Spain to go to Barcelona.

hmmm, there must be a futbol match on right now, I've been hearing a lot of "palabrotas" (bad words) over the last hour at random intervals from above... it's a religion

That's all for now, Thursday I will be visiting the botanical gardens and the anthropological museum in central Madrid, so beautiful photos to come.

Spanish word of the day: cucaracha- cockroach

un besito!

C



Advertisement



3rd June 2010

trip to Italy
Let us know when you can come and visit, or we could maybe meet in some place in Italy you haven't been. Or maybe Mishal and I could come to Barcellona. Possible dates? Do you have Mishal's email? I don't think she goes to FB very often.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb