Day 2: Madrid Bicycle Tour


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 14th 2009
Published: September 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

City wallCity wallCity wall

Ancient Madrid city wall

Evening Day 1


When I left you last, I was headed out for an evening adventure. My goal was to stay up until 10pm, to help alleviate jet lag. I ended up sitting in the hotel terrace, which is on a major pedestrian way, having a glass of wine and watching the MadrileƱos walk by. Lovely!

Day 2: Biking Madrid


So, I have this thing for taking bike tours in a new city. It is an easy way to see all the sites, get an insider's view of the city, and figure out what to go back and explore more thoroughly. Today, I took a tour from Trixi. Our tour guide is from Hungary, and has lived all over the world. I only had one fellow tour-taker, a ~30 y/o man from Malta. The tour included a tiny garden recently opened to the public, highlights of Parque de el Retiro, an introduction to all the old neighborhoods, and a view of the city from the highest spot. We saw the ancient city wall, a statue of the devil (at elevation 666 meters), an old doorway, a gorgeous rose garden, a bagpipe group playing in a square, and black swans
Glass palaceGlass palaceGlass palace

Part of the Prado Art Museum, used for exhibitions.
(rare in these parts).

Madrid is *not* bike friendly! The small streets were fine, but the larger avenues I felt I was taking my life in my hands. Or, rather, putting it into the hands of my tour guide.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Sympathy for the DevilSympathy for the Devil
Sympathy for the Devil

Statue of the devil in Retiro Park.


Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 18; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb