Mas museos


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
December 20th 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So today started much better then the other museum days 😊 I got to sleep in a little bit as the first one didn´t open until 930. I took the Metro to get there instead of walking. I was saving that 30 minute walk for later. I was disappointed as the museums were undergoing construction so I didn´t get to see as much as I wanted to.

Museum of Anthropology was cool what I got to see. Lots of items from religion... Hindu, Buddha, and Islam. These were neat to look at but was disappointed I couldn't see the other floors. I made my way to the Archeology....this was awesome. Again, only first floor was open but I got to see things that we studied in class....La Dama de Elche, items from the Visigodos and Roman Empires. I enjoyed this a lot. Even more interesting then that Dama was La Dama de Baza. Very cool artifacts.

Next was the Biblioteca Nacional. I couldn´t look at how big it was because you needed a library card to go in that part. I retreated to the museum part which was cool. They had an exhibit on an author as he was important to the literature callbera... I love Don Quijote so this may spark me to read others. The rest of it was alot of the same and so I got bored quickly. There were a lot of open books in cases showcasing why they were important. Nate D. would love it!

Since I was getting serious museumed out....I went to a fun one: a wax museum. That was pretty neat. It had important Spanish figures, then you had to go on ´the tren of terror.' It was okay...very disconnected. My nephews would have loved the tren...it had Star Wars figures. Then we went into a different area that had more figures, etc. The American ones made me smile...Michael Jordan, Michael Jackson, etc.

I ended at one of the big three Museums....de Thyssen. It was okay and I zoomed through that. I am not that much of an art person so I looked at a few things and called it a day. I did see more Dali so it was worth it.

When I got back I took a nap and then figured out what to do for dinner. I finally found the place but decided not to eat there....If I learned anything from dad its you don´t order prime rib on Friday fish fry. The kitchen was making batches and batches of Bocadillas de Calamares.... Calamari sandwiches. These are EVERYWHERE! I didn´t want to to disrupt their flow and order what I wanted so I left. I ended up walking to find a place that wasn´t too crowded. After I did, I ordered and soon realized why everywhere was packed....Real Madrid was playing Valencia. Soccer, big deal here....so thats why everywhere was packed. After the game it really cleared out. I had intentions of going out for the night, but I was wiped.



Advertisement



22nd December 2008

Tapas?
Have you had tapas yet? Which ones have you tried?
25th December 2008

La Dama de Elche!!!! y los visigodos... si, recuerdo los cosas de la clase!!

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb