Pops and I in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dad with Bear and Strawberry treeDad with Bear and Strawberry treeDad with Bear and Strawberry tree

Here´s the classic tourist picture in Madrid. The sheets above him are to stop the heat...
Since I now know Madrid like the back of my hand, I was dad´s ¨tour guide¨when we were in the city. I took him to all my favourite places, plus a few places I had never been!

We took the Madrid tour bus which showed everything, like the Royal Palace, the Prado Museum and Plaza Mayor. We ate dinner that night in this really fancy outdoor restaurant. There was a piano player and fans spraying a light mist of water on us. I tried ¨melon con jamon¨which is melon and ham! It sounds like a wierd combo, and it is. But it tasted delish! Dad was daring and tried the green olives they gave us. Much to his own surprise, he liked them! Then that night we took the tour bus again, but the city seemed like a new place at night with all the lights, and we loved it.

We took a second trip to Madrid later in the week and headed to El Rastro. It is a HUGE market that happens every Sunday. When we got off the subway we just followed the crowds and it was easy to find. After about five minutes I had already
RelaxRelaxRelax

Dad and I spent hours in Retiro Park... dad enjoyed many a Cerbeca while we were there.
bought a dress, earrings and a hat! The prices were right so I couldn´t help it. I tried to barter but that didn´t go over well! haha. Dad said he didn´t normally like markets, but he liked this one! It had everything you can imagine.

Then we found a nice square and had lunch. I had melon and ham again (my new favourite meal) and dad had a salad with wierd, yogurt tasting cheese in it. Then we headed to Retiro Park and spent the entire afternoon and evening people watching. It began with about four drummers sitting together playing music. Soon it turned into a huge party. There were people dancing and singing everywhere. By the end there were about twenty drummers. Dad and I enjoyed just watching it all. When we left at about ten that night, the party was still in full swing!

Dad and I had two fun days in Madrid. Thanks dad 😊




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Spider manSpider man
Spider man

Here is dad with a crazy street entertainer.
Melon and HamMelon and Ham
Melon and Ham

So strange but so delicious...
YodaYoda
Yoda

May the force be with you.
El RastroEl Rastro
El Rastro

The sweet market we went to...
Breaking inBreaking in
Breaking in

When we arrived home one day, nobody was home to open the gate. So we found ways around it...


Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb