Spain!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 10th 2008
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So this is my first time using this blog site, but it seems pretty easy to figure out!

Anyway, I've been in Spain for FOUR weeks already! Time has just flown by!

It seems like just yesterday I was stepping off the plane in the Madrid airport with my huge suitcase. I nervously waited in the airport for twenty minutes, surrounded by Spanish conversations. What if this is a scam? What if there is no Bunzl family? Just then, Rafa showed up in his suit and tie. I knew it was him immediately, having seen pictures of him already. We hugged and did the classic two kisses, one on each cheek. He then handed me his cell phone and said "phone your mother!" Even though it was about 5 AM in Canada I knew an update would be appreciated!

My first day in Spain was a blur since I was jet lagged and nervous. I remember meeting Julio and Ramona (the two live-in servants who don't speak a word of english!) and getting a tour of the Bunzl's amazing home. Then Rafa brought me to my cute little room and said I should have a siesta for the afternoon, then go to the schools with Julio to pick up the kids! That plan sounded good so I went under my covers and was out in a flash.

Julio and I drove first to Maria's school. I remember being shocked at the speed and gruffness of Julio's driving, but now I'm used to it! He was playing this strange Spanish music, which I've learned to love now! When we got to her school, Little Maria ran up to me and hugged me the minute I saw her in the playground! Instead of me asking her alot of questions she began talking away about this and that. Her english was surprisingly good, and I told her that. When I met the boys, Inigo and Bosco, they were more quiet, but as time would prove, they weren't always that quiet!

Finally, that night when we were sitting around the little table in the kitchen, Ramona hovering around us cleaning and muttering things in Spanish, Big Maria floated into the room in a gorgeous Spanish outfit and welcomed me to Spain. Now I had met the entire Bunzl family! Big Maria informed me that her and Rafa were going out for dinner, and that the kids should be in bed by 9:30. And with that, she was gone.

After putting the kids to bed, with help from Ramona, I went into my room and just sat there thinking about my day, and the crazy summer I was about to have. I emailed my parents again, curled up under my covers and fell asleep immediately.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb