My Last Day in Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 27th 2007
Published: September 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Reina Sofia was a lot different than the Prado, for sure. Totally all modern art. I actually enjoyed the Prado more. There were some cool pieces at the Reina though. The Tropical guest exhibit was pretty trippy. I did like all the trippy Dali´s and Picassos though. And yes, the Guernica, is pretty fascinating.

From there, I actually wanted to just chill today. I was moving so fast the past few days in Madrid it was time for some more down time. I went shopping and bought a sweater, yay. From there, I was pretty tired so I took my siesta and ended up going up to the Sun Deck at the hostel and rekindling my relationship with my boy, Santiago from The Alchemist. I was definitely engrossed.

While on the Sun Deck, I met a fellow Filipino, James from Jersey who was busy painting up there. We chatted about our travels and stuff and it was good to just chill up there for a good few hours until it turned to dusk.

We went down to the hostel bar after and had a few San Miguels. It was good to have some good conversation.

I met up with Karri and Isabel (Izzie) from Kansas, hahaha, midwesterns again. And we went to Sol again to do some errand running. I bought another book since I¨m almost finished with The Alchemist. I´m on a Coelho kick, so The Pilgrimage, it is. Plus, his books are so small that I can fit them in my purse. 😊 WE then walked to La Latina to have dinner outside again. I´ts actually getting pretty cold here in Madrid now, all just overnight.

We craved some dessert so we went to Gran Via to VIPS. It´s totally like a diner, hahaha, I was amused. I did have this very cool chocolate cookie thing. We laughed all night, talking about Spanish mullets, the prostitutes by the sex shops, etc. Fun times, girls!

Now, I´m off tonight to......ROME!

Advertisement



27th September 2007

Hi Jen, Oh my gosh, you're actually going to Rome. How wonderful. I'm so excited for you. I can't believe you've seen so much in just a couple of weeks....Enjoy Rome and call me to let me know what you think. Love ya!
27th September 2007

I'ts?
Hope that was a typo. Wow. I you are going to have seen and done so much by the end of this trip. It's crazy how much you've seen already. And read! I'm duly impressed with both. This should be a real mind opener trip for you. Kudos to you. Be safe. Keep having fun. And when you are in Rome you HAVE TO rent a moped for a couple hours and zip around town going "Ciao!" to people. Awesome. Ciao.
28th September 2007

Yay!
Jen... I'm so very happy and excited for you. I read your blogs (kinda had to catch up) and they are awesome! I can't wait to see your pictures and hear more stories. You should be in Italy now - ahh... jealous!!! =) Enjoy this time as I know you are.... and cherish all the beautiful things! mwah! xoxo

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0865s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb