1st full day Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
July 24th 2007
Published: July 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to my first entry with Travelblog.

I am in Europe on business and my first 3 nights are in Madrid. The first day I arrived exhausted from 18 hours of traveling from Madison, Wisconsin. Today, Tuesday, my goal for the day and the whole Madrid stay was to see Guernica at the Reina Sofia Museum. Turns out the museum is closed every Tuesday. A slight oversight but now I don't think I will have any time to see the museum before I leave. I have appointments tomorrow at 830 and then I fly to Barcelona in the afternoon. I could take a taxi to the museum after my first appointment run inside to see what I need to see and then catch another taxi to the airport. That could be the only way.

I did go to the Reina Sofia today anyways just to see the outside and orient myself as to how to get there in a hurry if need be. Also I walked to the Prado Museum but did not go inside because I am only in Madrid for a couple of days and would rather walk around outside and get a small feel of the city.

Tonight at 1800 is my first business meeting with distributors. I am looking forward to it. I will get to see their installations and then we will go out to dinner. In the meantime I am trying to rest, a little jet lagged, and prepare mentally for this particular distributor. I have to meet 20 distributors during this trip and each is a distributor for 1 of the 4 areas of our business.

Next stop is Lyon for 3 nights and then Strasbourg. Wish me luck in my guernica adventure and I will hopefully keep my little blog up. I am staying at the BW Hotel Arosa on the Grand Via.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



24th July 2007

madrid
Madrid looks very cool. SOME DAY I MAY TRAVEL THERE.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb