I´m HERE!!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
May 24th 2007
Published: May 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Girls Night Out!Girls Night Out!Girls Night Out!

These are some of the girls I hung out with in Madrid. Sadly, most of them are studying in Alicante, in southern Spain.
Hola Amigos!

I can´t believe I´m actually in Madrid! It is sooo surreal. The city is gorgeous and so lively. The jet-lag didn´t kill me too much. I got a two hour nap and I think I´m surviving on adrenaline right now...

Six of us girls went out last night to a couple bars, because our hotel is located near everything, in La Puerta del Sol. We got some free Sangria and met a lot of other international students. There were other girls from Texas, some boys from London, and some other guys from Ireland (I love the accents, but don´t worry I´m not getting into trouble!)

Today we toured the Palacio Reale, where the King and Queen used to live. It was amazing, there is nothing like it in the States. It was raining all day, so we took a bus to the Prado museum and saw some really famous artists´works: El Greco, Goya, and Valesquez. It was amazing to see paintings you had studied in your Spanish classes in front of you.

This afternoon I went out to lunch with Matt (who is from XU) and another guy we met from Arkansas. We had tapas (little appetizers): I had calamari (the real thing and not just the stuff you get at Fridays), fried sardines, and Spanish omlette (Tortilla Espanola). They gave us some kind of liquor afterwards, and it was like peach snapps and tequila? We were too embarassed to ask what it was... probably not the best idea to drink it, but when in Madrid?!

I have to go now and get my housing assignment for San Sebastian, so I´ll try to write soon, but it is hard here because you have to go to internet cafes and its adds up. I´ll be able to write more when I get to San Sebastian!

My Spanish cell phone number is 600-209-479 and Spain´s country code is 34. So feel free to call me because I have free incoming calls and texts! I miss everyone and will see you soon!

Muchos Besos (Lots of Kisses)
Amanda


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Palacio RealePalacio Reale
Palacio Reale

This is the entrance inside... luckily I got to take a picture before the secruity guard yelled at us!


24th May 2007

Que lo pases bien
Hope your journey is amazing; all that you imagined and more. Open your mind and heart to the country, people, and culture and you will have experiences far beyond your expectations. Be well and safe in your travels. Un saludo!
24th May 2007

Hey Amanda! I am so excited you thought to send your blog to me!! Me encanta espanol...so I will try to live vicariously through you on your trip. :) Sounds like you are having a great time already!!! I am so jealous. Here in Indiana, I have sold my soul to summer school. ICK. Oh well. Hope to hear from you again soon. Buena suerte amiga!!
24th May 2007

Hey!
Hey Amanda! Your trip sounds awesome already! I hope you're having a great time. I forgot that your sister and Dad are going to meet you over there. That part sounds great too! You are going to be quite the European traveler after this summer! Well I hope you have a great time and I look forward to reading the rest of your blogs! Talk to you soon, Jess
24th May 2007

hey!!!
Hey chica! Thanks sooo much for those calls yesterday!! I wish I hadn't been working ALL day so I could answer!!! I'll try to figure out that calling card soon so we can talk... I miss you!! I'm glad you are having so much fun!!!! Enjoy everything, it's so exciting!! love ya!
25th May 2007

so after reading the part where it said "don't worry, i'm not getting into trouble.." i thought hahahhahaha yeah right. just playing....love you bunches hope everything is still awesome

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb