Crazy, Cool Dali


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Girona » Figueres
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

OutsideOutsideOutside

How cool is this?
Teatre-Museu Dali, aka The Dali Theater-Museum is one of the most impressive museums I’ve been to. There’s so much to see, my eyes hurt after spending a few hours there. Dali personally designed, decorated and painted this museum to showcase his works (there are a few other artist there as well). There’s way to much to write it all down, so I’ll just share some pictures. Some of my favorites were the Mae West room, a living room of her face and there are some stairs you walk up to look through drapery, or her hair, to get the full picture. How creative is that?!! There’s also the Paradise room, which you view through a peep hole that is so beautiful with it’s bright green colors. Not much else to see at Figueres (cute town with some shops), but if you’re ever anywhere near here, I highly recommend making a stop to see this museum.

“Google It!” - Not to plug a great company I’ve worked with recently (but I’m going to) . . . Last year when I was traveling with Wendy, we kept coming up with questions we didn’t have the answers for (i.e. “where’d the term
Tourist TimeTourist TimeTourist Time

Me outside of the museum.
tow-head come from?”). So we made a “Google It” list. Well, it’s happening again on this trip so I figured I’d share my random Google questions and answers with you. I guess there is a reason my older brothers used to tease me when I was a kid by calling me Curious George. So, here we go . . .

Google It: What’s the deal with Dali and eggs (this was actually not an easy to find answer at the museum!)

The egg is another favourite Dalinian motif, given the duality of its hard exterior and soft interior. Dali links the egg to pre-natal images and the intra-uterine universe, and thus it is a symbol of both hope and love.

(And maybe I was the only one that didn't know this, but that's ok. No question is a bad question, right?) :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

One of My FavoritesOne of My Favorites
One of My Favorites

The Allegory of the Memory by Antoni Pitxot.
One of My Dali FavoritesOne of My Dali Favorites
One of My Dali Favorites

Forget the name of this one.
The MazeThe Maze
The Maze

Of course there's no 'organized' way to walk through this museum.
Abe and GalaAbe and Gala
Abe and Gala

Can you see Abe and then Dali's wife in the middle of the painting nude standing in front of the window?
DaliDali
Dali

He's in there too.
Mae West Living RoomMae West Living Room
Mae West Living Room

This was very cool.
Mae West Living Room 2Mae West Living Room 2
Mae West Living Room 2

View from the stairs.
Paradise RoomParadise Room
Paradise Room

I took this holding my camera into the peep hole.
More FeetMore Feet
More Feet

Dali and Gala (his wife) on their way to heaven (this is the ceiling of one of the rooms).


26th June 2007

lucky!
i have been wanting to go there my whole life......keep sending updates, i am vacationing through you.
26th June 2007

Spain is fabulous
hope you will get to more than Madrid - towns/cities to check out - Salamonca - home of one of the oldest universities in Europe and a great little city! Sevilla and Cordoba - the most romantic places in Spain; Mallaga - the beach and club scene is fabulous!!! keep the blog going - i'm living vicariouly thru you and your travels!!!
26th June 2007

Wow. It has been added to my travel list! I like the looks of the Paradise Room.
26th June 2007

Hey Christy, Looks like your trip is turning out to be amazing! Thanks for keeping on your blog list. Look forward to seeing you upon your return. Best, KIM
26th June 2007

Awesome!
I absolutely love your travel blogs, love the Dali Museum. steph
27th June 2007

You ROCK!!
Christy...you are such an inspiration... I am living vicariously thru you!! Thanks for keeping me in the loop of your amazing adventures! Great to see you in SD and can't wait for more updates on your travels!
27th June 2007

Keep it comin' Christy! I am so inspired.
5th July 2007

Dali is sooo amazing!!
He is one of my favorite artists of all time. You're VERY lucky to see this museum!! Keep travelin' lady, love to see through your eyes!!!

Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 24; qc: 118; dbt: 0.2186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb