Found The Castle But Where's My Prince?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Girona
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My CastleMy CastleMy Castle

Ok, not MY castle, but we can pretend.
I found this castle hotel by complete accident on the internet the other day, so for kicks I emailed to see if they had any openings and sure enough they had two nights at a rate LESS than my not so fab hotel in downtown Barcelona. I booked it and off I went. My first road trip in Spain. Wyatt recommended “pepecars.com” for the best rates on rental cars. All the guide books talk about rental cars being broken into in Spain, particularly Barcelona, and how tourists are major targets. Specifically they say when you are in a rental car to be as inconspicuous as possible so your car does not look like a rental to reduce the chance of getting broken into. As you can see from the photo, Pepe must not be concerned about this. I may as well have a neon sign that says “tourist renting car, come and get me”. This reminds me of my last month in the states borrowing my mom’s car with “C FOLEY” on the license plate (her name is Chris). But just like my mom’s car (free to borrow), Pepe is way cheaper than the other companies, the car works and
Mi Amigo PepeMi Amigo PepeMi Amigo Pepe

Very incognito.
maybe the thieves will think I’m a local because I know about Pepe!

I can’t decide which is more of a bummer, staying in a crappy hotel that feels like a jail cell or staying by myself in an amazing hotel without someone special (insert boyfriend, sister, best friend, whatever) to share it with. You know me, I’ll still take the fanciness over roughing it any day, even if I am the only solo person in the entire hotel and EVERYONE else is on their romantic weekend getaway. So I’ll share it through pictures. The town is La Bisbal, outside of Girona. There’s not much out here except country and little villages (I said romantic, right?). It’s very beautiful and similar to Provence in France - even lots of sunflower fields.

Irish History in Spain - And just when I thought I’d be having my fancy dinner alone, I met Angela and Peter, a Irish couple from outside of Dublin. We had a great time at dinner and I learned everything I ever wanted to know about the history of Ireland and England (my knowledge was limited to Harrison Ford/Brad Pitt movies) and all about Fox Hunting (it’s
Castle little PondCastle little PondCastle little Pond

No prince, I mean toad, under the lilly pad, just coy fish.
not about killing the fox). Now I want to go to Ireland (well, I wanted to go before, but now I just know more about it!).

After two relaxing days in the country, Pepe and I are off to the coast for seven days in Cadaques, a small fishing village near the home of Salvador Dali.

AFRICA UPDATE - All I can say is you, my friends, ROCK! In less than five day all of my Africa fund has been raised. In all the fundraising I’ve done before, I’ve never seen it happen that fast! Thank you SO MUCH for all your support, kind words and encouragement. Having you all participate really gives me much more motivation to go and really get involved in the community because I feel like I’m giving on behalf of all of you. Very Excited! Thanks again for all your support! xoxo



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

HeavenHeaven
Heaven

Fanciness.
More HeavenMore Heaven
More Heaven

A nice bathtub (luxury on this trip!)
View from Upper AreaView from Upper Area
View from Upper Area

On our way to dinner.
PoolPool
Pool

More fanciness.
Fields Fields
Fields

I love the rolled up hay.
PrettyPretty
Pretty

View from my dinner seat.


21st June 2007

Whoa
Well, my friend.....So proud of you that the adventurer is out in force. That photo of you is ....is...... Well, are you sure you didn't return from dinner with someone interesting. Much love and many blessings to you
22nd June 2007

Your royal-ness
GORGEOUS, absolutely!! It's ok to be "single" in a romantic spot. Perhaps you will meet someone romantic and single? Ahhh;)...I am rooting for you, as you are a beautiful woman~! Cannot wait to red more and more and more..

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 26; qc: 121; dbt: 0.1752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb