Barcelona!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 19th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

La Sagrada FamiliaLa Sagrada FamiliaLa Sagrada Familia

The Gaudi masterpiece.
Okay, so July isn't the best month to be in Barcelona because it's hot and humid. I kept asking myself, "I left Kuala Lumpur for this weather??". Metro platforms are disgusting in July - like saunas but at least those let you take a shower after sweating like a dog!

I guess the first thing I realised about Barcelona was that it's an old city. The buildings are old, the streets are old. I always heard it being called a 'cosmopolitan' city and maybe I was expecting a New-York-type-modern feel (though I've never been and I could be wrong about New York too!!).

But having said that, it only takes a day or so and then you start loving the city. Everything is within walking distance and it's so easy getting from one place to another.

La Sagrada Familia: the first piece of architecture I saw on the way to where I was living - because I live a block away from it! It's amazing, though am not so keen on the new additions - I don't think I'll ever stop looking at it no matter how many times I walk past a day! All other Guadi masterpieces
With LauraWith LauraWith Laura

Just to prove I was there. Hahaha.
are just as amazing - Parc Guell, La Pedrera, Casa Batllo.

My first night here we went for a performance by a popular flamenco singer, Estrella Morente, at the Palau de la Musica where the oddest thing happened: the electricity went off! So there we were, in a packed concert hall with no air-conditioning, no lights and no sound. Still, the place was beautiful albeit very very hot without air-conditioning in the middle of summer!!

My first culture shock here was to find everything in Spanish. I know, it's to be expected but it's just weird seeing things in a language I don't quite understand yet. To make it worse some things are only in Catalan here in Barcelona - which I cannot understand at all - so I feel like I´ve been dumped into the deepest part of the ocean.

When you get to a new place, you realise little details that are different from what you're used to; like how the keyboards in Spain have the Euro symbol and the letters we never have had to use like 'ñ'.

It's all new and exciting!



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Barceloneta beachBarceloneta beach
Barceloneta beach

That's a copper fish designed by Frank Gehry in the background!
TapasTapas
Tapas

Prosciutto (bit thicker than usual), queso (cheese) and cava (champagne).
FoodFood
Food

This was a great little place where everyone just ordered and stood at the bar (or wherever they could find space!) and ate. And cava was 50cents!!
La RamblaLa Rambla
La Rambla

Street performer.
Inside Casa BatlloInside Casa Batllo
Inside Casa Batllo

Gaudi has an incredible ability to understand what it is about nature that's soothing and brings that into his work. It's evident in everything in this house!
TibidaboTibidabo
Tibidabo

The church.
Ready to rumbleReady to rumble
Ready to rumble

Bikes lined up to start.
Parc GuellParc Guell
Parc Guell

You can't possibly go there and not take a picture with the great lizard! (or it is a dragon??)
MiradorMirador
Mirador

The top of Parc Guell - you can see La Sagrada Familia from here!
The cakeThe cake
The cake

The house behind is like a cake with frosting! :)
BullringBullring
Bullring

Opposite Monumental metro.


Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb