Left my heart in Barcelona!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 11th 2012
Published: June 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thoughts to Jot: Four days alone in Barcelona-loved it! Seriously one of the best moments on my trip thus far. I haven't felt this excited about a city since Paris. It reminds me a bit of San Francisco, a bit of Paris and a bit of New Orleans (crazy, I know). This place rocks and if you're coming to Spain, I'd recommend it any day over Madrid. The energy, the food, the culture, the art and the people are awesome. I also felt complete awe checking out Gaudi's works-fell in love with his genius and exquisite creativity. I also went to the Primavera Sound concert festival which is a lot like OutsideLands in San Fran if you've ever been. Only this was right on the water and absolutely unreal in its setting! If you like alternative-check out the band Odio Paris-they're Spanish but love their sound and saw them live-they were great. So much fun!

Sentiments: 1. JOY-wasn't one thing I didn't like about Barce. 2. RELIEF to be out of Salamanca-I know that sounds spoiled and awful but have to say Salamanca is simply a means to an end-the chance to see other parts of Spain!

Something of the Ridiculous: 1. I had Starbucks twice a day-which amounted to 8 euros per day just for the drinks-no joke. My addiction has gotten so bad that on one of the days that I wasn't going into the center of Barce, and therefore wouldn't be near a Starbucks, I contemplated paying an extra 4 euro just to take the metro half an hour to and fro the center to get my beloved Chai tea latte (that's a total of 8 euro and one hour's time just for one Chai). Disgusting, I know!

Newish Words for the Day: La Rambla and La Boqueria: La Rambla is a famous stretch of street in the midst of Barce (includes some of Gaudi's most famous houses along the way) and so awesome-one of my favorite stops along the street is the Mercado of La Boqueria. The display of chocolates and candy alone had me going nuts!

Question: Why the f**** have I been spending the last two months in Salamanca when I could have been here (WAY better weather, friendlier folks, a thousand times better food!)?

Note to Self: Si se puede! I CAN read maps all by myself! My whole life I've had a fear of reading maps and so I've always gotten others to read or direct with them. This trip I felt incredibly empowered doing it all on my own-navigating this metropolitan city alone.

On Today's Menu: Sour black licorice gummie sharks-mmmmmm! Bought them at La Boqueria market-awesome!

XOXO Sarah


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb