A Spanish Romance in Morocco


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
May 14th 2012
Published: May 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thoughts to Jot: Where to even begin! My time in Morocco was like a dream. Warning to everyone now-this entry will likely be far more sentimental than all the others so stop reading if need be...The second we (another American female student from my program and I) stepped off the plane in Marrakech I was thrilled. It was so different, so incredibly different, than any other place I had ever been. And the heat that enveloped us was unbelievable-I loved it. Shortly after arriving, we began wondering the souks-the amazing street markets. First, we got an unofficial tour by a Moroccan boy of how some of the beautiful fabrics and dyes are made. Then we were wooed into one of the small vendor’s “stores” by a 20 something-year old Moroccan, Kareem, and offered Moroccan tea. And the rest my friends is history. Visiting with Kareem was a Spanish photographer, David (pronounced Da-VEED). The four of us sat and talked for an hour or so and then off my friend and I went with David, into the night, to see the more of the souks and the main market square. My friend went back to the hotel that night, but I stayed with David all night-visiting with the local Moroccans he had met in his time there. I went to two different homes that night, listening to him speak French with the locals and being fed incredible authentic Moroccan food until late into the night. The people were so warm, kind and gracious. I couldn’t believe I had only arrived in Morocco just hours before. After eating with these families, David and I talked on a rooftop terrace until 6 in the morning. At one point, around 4 AM, the calls to prayer began sounding off from every Mosque-it was the most incredible sound ever. And to be sitting on this rooftop, the Moroccan sky above me, still full of stars, the Mosques lit up, the calls to prayer, David’s company-all unreal. I spent the next three days wondering the city with him (my friend took a 2 day trip to the desert) meeting all the locals that he had befriended and getting a different perspective of Moroccan life. And-I spoke Spanish with him the entire time!

Sentiments: 1. Complete state of elation and gratitude at my experience and time in Morocco. 2. Excitement that I'm making real progress with my
Kareem making us teaKareem making us teaKareem making us tea

The traditional way is to pour and re-pour it several times over (sometimes for 15 minutes) before serving it.
Spanish speaking skills!!!

Something of the Ridiculous: 1. It took leaving Spain in order to have a romantic encounter with a Spaniard-go figure. 2. I paid all this money for my Spanish classes through the University yet the only time I really speak and learn Spanish is outside of the classroom-of course! As with all things in life...

Newish Words for the Day: Miel en los labios (I know I’m not writing this entirely correct but this is the general idea) translates to “honey on the lips”- what David described as getting a taste of something and wanting more of it. I love how figurative the Spaniards are with their language!

Question: How long can I extend my stay in Spain? I’m currently exploring a number of options but Lord knows you will all be seeing me again in late June! But I don’t mind if you cross your fingers for me that I might have luck in staying a little longer 😊

Note to Self: They really did mean it in the tour books when they said it is easy to get completely lost in the Moroccan souks-only it’s far worse (and at times, scarier, depending on the time of day) than they described it in the tour books!!!

On Today's Menu: Couscous. Sorry to disappoint you but this turned out to be a favorite. If they were a Moroccan term for the equivalent of “gringa” I’d be it! I never liked couscous until I had it in Morocco-delicious. I had it with every meal!

XOXO Sarah


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb