Hola


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
January 12th 2012
Published: January 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Alex ShotAlex ShotAlex Shot

One of the shots I took at the shot bar! Love ya Al
Hola!

Picking up from where I left off... The Stock Market Bar, Bar Dow Jones, was awesome!! Easily my favorite bar of the trip thus far. It was cool watching it go up and down (they had a ticker up on the wall with all sorts of beers, drinks, shots, etc. running alone). About every 30 minutes or so, the stock market would crash and all the drinks would go down! Unfortunately, this was still an expensive price, but it was an experience nonetheless. We had a decent group of about 15 go, it was the most like an American bar, where you could just sit down, have a beer and talk with who you were with.

Yesterday we had class during the day, then went to Olympic Stadium again with everyone who didn't go the first time. After that we walked around the mall that had been built inside the old bull fighting arena. It looked like an arena on the outside, with a modern mall inside. This was cool but wayyyyy out of my price range.

Afterwards, my roommate and I had dinner on La Rambla (big shopping street), right in the middle, outside. It was soo cool, and great.... except for the food. I think this was the first authentic, adventurous dish I tried. It was called Paella, which was a dish made up of some very bland rice, what looked like tree leaves, and hunks of chicken (which still included bone, and visible tissue/muscle/i have no idea). Not my favorite, but once again, it was an experience!

Everyone was pretty tired last night, so we all went to bed early and got up for class today. Today, we toured a pretty cool company. It was called BarcelonActiva. It is a incubator for entreprenuers. Anyone who wants to start their own business can come here, take classes, talk to professionals, and rent work spaces to start their business. They are charged rent, and can stay up to 3 years. Just to get an idea, the percent of entreprenuers that keep projects for more than 5 years in the United States is 10%, where as out of BarcelonActiva, it is 78%! That is crazy!

A group of us then went to the biggest outdoor mall I have ever seen, with every kind of shop. I finally bought myself a few items. I got a new grey coat, scarf, wallet, and an FC Barcelona scarf (the soccer team here). I look very European, you wouldn't even recognize me!

Tonight we are going to Ice Barcelona, a bar made completely of ice! I have been looking forward to this the whole trip!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb