Helloooooo


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
January 2nd 2012
Published: January 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Helloooo all,

Well once again, nothing really too exciting to say about today. Just sat around for the most part. Until next time....



Oh actually one minor fact, I took the 16 hour trip to Spain! I can't believe I'm finally here! My first two flights to Dallas and New York were decent. The flight to Barcelona didn't go so well. It started out great, got myself a row to myself, little treat for me, but I could not sleep a single minute in the 7 hour flight. Rough.

Oh well.

We arrived around 6:45 this morning and have been going going going since. It's about 3 now, and I am just getting settled in to the room and laying down (looking forward to this siesta because the last time i slept was the night before I left when I got up at 4:30!).

When we first got in we drove through the city in a big bus and were taken to the hotel, only to find out our rooms weren't going to be ready for about 4 hours. Of course this was a huge bummer for this gentleman, who would have just loved a hot fresh shower after his 7 hour plane ride, but it's something I had to deal with.

We went and got some Euros and our Subway passes and went down to the tourist area known as La Rambla. I instantly saw why people love Barcelona. It was amazing. We walked around for a few hours, while I got grabbed by a giant man wearing a black devil costume, and saw a couple churches, some markets, the dock, and other amazing buildings. We did more of just a brief walk around the city to try and get the feel for it. One thing that wasn't on my Barcelona bucket list of things to try was the skinned rabbit in the market... all fresh and bloody with the head and eyeballs still attached. But who knows, we may BBQ one night. (That's a joke I would never touch that)

After, our professors treated us to a big pint of a local beer, Bavaria, at this little bar. I thought it was a pretty neat place, and there seem to be places like it all over the place. We have been coming up with so many plans on what to do, I can't wait! We have a really fun group it seems like.

Two down notes, unfortunately. One is my first Spanish food experience wasn't the best. My roommate, Dave, and I got some little street shop meat cone things that looked decent. They didn't taste decent. The second note, and more upsetting than the first, is that I didn't realize I needed to install the CD for my camera onto my computer before uploading pictures, so unfortunately, unless I find it somewhere online, I won't be able to add photos until I get back to the states.

Well, its off to bed for me. We are getting dinner tonight and possibly out for a bit.

Advertisement



2nd January 2012

Lovely Barcelona!!
I am so glad you are having a great time - first day is always the hardest for jetlag! Keep your posts going - I love reading about the trip!
3rd January 2012

Huh??
Love your blog Jimmy but the following statement could have used a little more explanation: "We walked around for a few hours, while I got grabbed by a giant man wearing a black devil costume"
3rd January 2012

Meat Cone?
Awesome news, Jimmy! Sounds like you are adapting Internationally just fine! Shelley has a good note about the Devil Man. I, however, am more concerned with the term "Meat Cone". But I know you'll find your culinary way - remember, you can always just order plain paella or paella with just chicken, etc. That's what I survived on. Have a blast!!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb