First Night


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
January 2nd 2012
Published: January 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

Picking up from before, that was the most intense siesta I've ever taken. Dave and I slept for about 3.5 horas, which was more than anyone else in the group. Once we were up, we felt fine though.

We had a group of 14 that started the night out drinking our 2EU wine from the market before going out to dinner. We left for dinner around 9:15, which is about 4 hours later than I usually eat, strange! We weren't quite sure what to do for the first night (we made up about half of the full group of 30, everyone splits off for the nights). We decided to go back to La Rambla to get dinner then to go to a club (Nasty Mondays) which we were all told to go to.

After searching around La Rambla for about 2 hours, we finally decided that we needed to split up into a couple groups, considering they don't split checks here! So 4 of us went to a place called "American Soda". Nothing about this place was American, by the way. I got to taste my first legit Spanish food (I'm not counting the meat cone at lunch because that wasn't food". We each ordered some "Tapas" or Appetizers. I got the chicken croquettes, which were 4 chicken nuggets for about 10 dollars, and the "Spicy Sausage" which I thought would be little weenies, but turned out to be cold lunch meat. Wasn't my favorite, although the chicken was good!

Another note about dinner: I learned my lesson! We had 2 guys in our group of 14 that are somewhat fluent in Spanish. Neither came with our 4 to dinner. Therefore, it left me to order to our Spanish-only-speaking waiter. I ordered "Dos Vinos, Uno Rojo y Uno Blanco", for the 4 of us. Not realizing what kind of wine they would bring us. I soon found out when the bill came later on. Although I am not too happy about that, it is a lesson that I'm glad I learned early on!

After dinner, we started making our way to the club, however we realized how far away it was and how the subways closed at midnight, when it was 11:40 already. The group decided we should rest up for tomorrow instead of going, so we raced through the subways, reading Spanish and navigating through the subway stations to get back.

We all ran and made it (except for 3 who ended up walking home) by a matter of seconds. On a side note, we created a game, which even further made us look like tourists, as if we didnt already. The game is played by going out in Barcelona and experiencing the rich, wine-centered background, then all getting on the subway and seeing who the first to lose their balance is. The loser buys the next round of drinks. I don't like to toot my own horn, but I had a very strong hand in the creation of this game.

Anyways, we are all going to have another glass of wine, then its in the lobby at 7 AM for school tomorrow!

Until next time...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb