Day 39 - Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
May 26th 2011
Published: May 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was meant to be leaving tomorrow, however, I decided that as the chamions league final was involving barcelona and only required me staying another 2 nights I would stay and watch the game.

Anyway, today I went for a wonder down La Rambla again (it provides a useful reference point). I saw the port and went for a walk around the new shopping center. The only way to get to it was to walk across la rambla de mare which is a bridge/walkway thing that is completely built on the water. Some very nice spots to sit down by the sea and watch the port. I then went for a wonder around the east side of the old city, again ncie old streets to get lost in. What a wonderful city. I´m in love with it already.

I went to the Sagrada Familia today. This is the church that gaudi designed. Not the cathedral. This church is even mroe gothic and impressive. And whislt I would have happily payed the 11 euros to go in but there was a good hour and a half queue, so I decided to skip it. Even though I had heard wonderful things about the inside. I didn´t want to wait that long.

Instead I went for a walk to the beach via the basilica of Santa Maria Popolla, which is another very impressive church 5 minutes to the west of La Rambla. It´s one of the numerous domed churches that dot Barcelona.

The beach was very nice. And whilst the sea looked very appealing I didn´t go for a swim mainly because I had nowhere to leave my valuables if I did go in. And as the beach was packed with tourists and people attempting to sell things I didn´t trust the area enough to leave them there.

After lying on the beach enjoying the sun for a couple of hours I headed back to the house via the placa de catal

Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb