Day 38 - Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
May 25th 2011
Published: May 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I went out for a walk today. I walked down the main street in Barcelona, La Rambla, which was very tourisity and was populated by postcard kiosks and moving statues. Also by people trying to sell you crap that you would never in a million years want or need.

I had alreadyh decided that after walking the length of La Rambla to get my bearings I would go for a wonder in the western half of the Barcelona old town (Bari Gothic). Wonderfully narrow small streets that are perfect for walking around getting lost in.

I also saw the cathedral today. Very interesting and gothic. Though I thought that it was the famous gaudi church... which it turned out it wasn´t. Oh well still very impressive.

I also saw all the students protesting in the Plaça de Catalunya. It was very impressive. They were in full voice protesting against the governement and against 45 per cent youth unemployment.

After this I sat down in a square in the sun and had some lunch and read. (this was to become a recurring theme as the weather was so glorious). After going for a bit more of a wonder I headed back to the house at about half 6 ish. Spent a nice evening chatting to Jaume (my host) over a couple of beers in the house

Advertisement



Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb