Barcelona!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 15th 2010
Published: September 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

La Sagrada FamiliaLa Sagrada FamiliaLa Sagrada Familia

It looked like it was about to fall down...but luckily it didn't.
Barcelona! So far, its been my favorite stop on the trip. Not neccesarily for the sights, the food, the drinks or anything like that. It was the people that made this trip stand out above the rest. We stayed at the HelloBCN hostel, which had all the accomadation we needed including a bar in the lobby. This became one of the best places to meet the people who would become our best friends over the next few days. We met some amazing people from Australia, Brazil, Canada, Germany and a few girls from California. We enjoyed cheap beer, sangria, and found an amazing tapas restaurant, Can Eusebio, which offered delicious prawns, mussels, meatballs, fried potatoes, jamon, fried pork, paella, and countless other goodies at dirt cheap prices. We went to this place pretty much every day and I am proud to say I tried nearly everything on the menu.

The sights were also breathtaking. The view from the top of Mont Juic and Parc Guell were amazing and offered a great view of the city and the Mediterranean. We also visited Gaudi's Sagrada Familia, the unique and interesting street, Las Ramblas, and spent two days on the Barceloneta Beach, drinking
View From Parc GuellView From Parc GuellView From Parc Guell

Sweet view, but a long hike
beer, eating coconut and swimming in the amazing (though jellyfish-filled waters) of the Mediterranean.

All in all, Barcelona was an amazing few days. I wouldgo back in a heartbeat and already miss my new friends, most of which have already moved on to Grenada, Portugal, Rome or Germany. It was a great experience, but we are ready for more. We are in Nice, in southern France and will be moving onto Paris soon. The cafe does not have a way to upload pictures....so I will have to do that soon. I'll try to find a way as soon as I can!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



15th September 2010

Did you have a song in your head?
How many times did you hear Queen while you were in Barecelona???? I keep hearing it and I am in Boise! Be safe and have a Nice time in France...
22nd September 2010

I did keep randomly bursting into Queen songs while I was there, but I don't think I ever actually heard them playing anywhere.

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb