Holiday in Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
March 9th 2005
Published: March 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi All-
We spent this weekend on our first out of the UK trip, Barcelona! Since I studied in Spain 3 years back, I've been dying to go back. So, since it was my birthday and I got to pick the destination, we went and had a great time. We lucked out and stayed in a really great hostel (the Sun and Moon) right on Las Ramblas, which is kind of the main drag there, full of shops, street performers, etc. We ate tapas and paella, drank Sangria, went down to the beach, and went to see some awesome sights. I think my favorite was Guell Park, which is a park dedicated to Gaudi and is said to be Gaudi's architexture in garden form. It was beautiful and we took tons of pictures. (Kia-it reminded me of you when I saw the framed picture you had in your room). We also went to the Picasso museum, the Barcelona futbol stadium, Port Olympic, and Sagrada Familia. Our last day we went on a cable car ride along the coast to get an overhead view of the city. The best part of Barcelona was that even though the temperature was not great, the sun was shining! We have seriously not seen the sun in London for ages, so we took advantage and tried to stay outside the majority of the time. One of our hostelmates was actually one of the street performers, and he took us all to this crazy bar, the "Bar of Fables", which was decorated throughout with trees, and bridges, and fairies, very cool-can't wait to share pictures.
Since my last post we have visited the Tower of London, where we took a Beefeater tour, and also visited Shakespear's Globe theater. With only a week left in London we're getting very excited for our trip to Ireland. Thank you all that sent me birthday cards/emails. I'll talk to you soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb