Done with Miss Selfridges


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
February 17th 2005
Published: February 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So sorry I havn't posted in a while. We've been pretty busy here. Last weekend we went with our roommates to Greenwich to the prime meridian and center of time. We also saw the Cutty Sark, and walked through the markets there. It was a cute, and quiet little place, which was a very nice break from central london. We also went to our first West End production last week. We saw "Jerry Springer, the Opera" Now, when you hear the name of it, it doesn't sound to impressive and some of you might be thinking why of all the great plays/operas in London would you choose to see that? Well, after talking to many box offices, we were talked into seeing it after hearing how great it is and how many awards it has recieved. In fact, it is the only production in the history of the West End theater district in London to recieve all four awards in one year. So, we went. It was a lot of fun, a little reduntant, but we had great seats and had a good time.
The other big news is that I put my two week notice in to my work Tuesday. I have just not been too happy there, and I'd rather not work at all than work somewhere in London and not enjoy myself. I'll actually only have a week and a half of not working until we leave for Ireland. This weekend we have plans to go down to Brighton to stay with some friends we met right when we arrived in London. We also purchased our flights to Barcelona for two weeks from now. We're planning on staying there four days, which is not enough. I loved Spain when I was there, and am not going to want to leave. We've also booked a 6 day "Shamrocker" tour through Ireland after St. Paddy's day, which sounds like it's going to be awesome. We've been throwing around the idea of changing our original plans of heading to Scottland to work, and instead going to travel mainland Europe for a month or so right after we leave Ireland. Traveling will be cheaper, and the weather will be much milder.
I almost forgot-those of you who know Tom will get a kick out of this--I came home one night to find him with a mohawk shaved into his head. I've got to run since I'm on my lunch break, but I hope all is well back in the States. I miss you all! Love,
Alyssa


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb