barcelona day 2


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
April 17th 2010
Published: April 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 2
So today i realized that spanish people have very little shame in public. they will yell, dance, sing... and most of all, drop everything and suck face with their significant other... in public. i have never seen so many people dry hump in the middle of the street. kind of a culture shock.

Today I spent most of the morning panicking because my friend´s flight to barcelona was cancelled due to a VOLCANO EXPLOSION. yes... i don´t think i will ever write that sentence again in my life (i hope). basically volcano in iceland exploded and basically all flights in europe around the uk area were cancelled... thanks iceland... for proving once again that you fail at life.

I also had to switch hostels. I moved into Hostel Blue which is located in baro gothic...gorgeous neighborhood with tiny winding streets. The hostel is in a giant apartment building. The owner is very nice... he carried my luggage up 6 flights of stairs... and my luggage is HEAVY! and he speaks english... SHOCKING.

I got a late start, so i had to scratch my plans to go to montserra. instead i went to park guell, which is the park that gaudi designed. Really beautiful, peaceful place. I met two girls, one Japanese and one French, who were also travelling alone, so we stuck together throughout the park.

Afterwards, we had dinner by Catalunya station. Then I walked down the main street lined with designer fashion stores and gorgeous apartment buildings... kind of reminded me to park ave. I also stopped by the 2 casas that Gaudi designed and took some pictures.

Returning to the hostel, I found out that everyone is stranded. Most people here are from the UK and the earliest they can leave is on Wed... at this point I am still hopeful that my trip to paris will work out...

Advertisement



20th April 2010

In the barrio gothico
If you are still staying at the barrio gothico don't miss Sant Felip Neri's square. It has some kind of magic. It's a cul-de-sac square nearby the Cathedral with a sad history and a fountain. Enjoy Barcelona. Being stuck in a city is never nice but Barcelona is one of Europe's bedt cities to be stuck in. Saludos, Miriam www.barcelonastuff.com

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb