Day one.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
January 15th 2010
Published: January 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Kingston to Barcelona


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Inspired by Jorge 19 secs

1 additional video(s) currently being processed
First view of Barcelona!First view of Barcelona!First view of Barcelona!

The Mediterranean from the air
After a couple days of frost week, I left Kingston to go on exchange. It feels so surreal after a year of waiting that this is finally happening. After a 4 hour bus ride, I arrived at Pearson airport only to find out that the my plane was delayed...uggh. At least it's better than missing it all together. On a side note, there was definitely a middle aged couple that was slow dancing to no music in the waiting area. 😊 Feeling inspired, I made a video blog, which was filmed during an announcement, so you probably can't actually hear me haha. (Subtitles: I'm in Toronto...blah blah blah...I'm bored and now super awkward looking like I'm talking to myself...blah blah blah)

A couple movies and sporadic naps later, I arrived in foggy Belgium. It was cold, damp, and foggy. Had I even left Kingston? Even having gone across the Atlantic, I still didn't hit me yet that I was even going on exchange. Finally, I got a shuttle bus that took me to a small regional plane that was to take me to my final destination...Barcelona!

Having slept the entire 2 hour ride, I woke up groggily to the
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Slowly arriving in Barcelona
sun! Finally, sunshine!!! I knew I had made the right choice coming to Spain when I saw the Mediterranean and the beaches along the coast. Riding into the city, Barcelona was not what I had in mind.

Old buildings, check. Stores open past 6 pm, check. Lovely old people in a pastry shop who put up with my broken Spanish and manage to understand that I want a meringue, check. I think I'm could get use to this.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

BCN airport
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Placa Espanol
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Building around Placa Catalunya
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Around Placa Catalunya


15th January 2010

AMZ we love you!!!! your nickname is the best!! skype soon

Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb