Tapas, food and other delights


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
January 24th 2009
Published: November 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Parade in BarcelonaParade in BarcelonaParade in Barcelona

This was a night time parade that went from Santa Maria del Mar to the Catalonia parliament building. People carried candles and flags
Of course, one of the first things I needed to do was find a place to eat shortly after I arrived -- I mean airline food leave a lot to be desired. The first place I found was Taller de Tapas. I tried the tomato bread, mussels in white wine sauce, red wine and espresso. I sat at the bar and chatted with one of the waiters who gave me list of places to go.

By this time, I was dead tired, so I headed back to my hotel for a nap -- only to be woken up by the sounds of parade -- it was a march for Catalan independence! Leave it to me to find a parade!

They say that New York never sleeps -- I think this is doubly true for Barcelona. As my waiter told me, there are really two Barcelonas -- the daytime and the night time -- where you can find bars and after hour bars and coffee shops open all night long. Since it was now the typical time for dinner in Barcelona, I headed out to join the crowds!

I walked through Jaume I Placa and found a little restaurant where I could sit and watch people. It was called Torvator. I had more tomato bread -- a traditional appetizer, in case you have not guessed, spinach salad and artichoke ravioli. I walked around a little in Barri Gotic before heading back to my hotel. Barcelona is pretty safe to walk around as there are a lot of people on the streets at all times. You just need to be careful and know your surroundings. I never carried a purse, and kept any valuables well hidden.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb