Day 7 Monteserrat


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 18th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

MonteserratMonteserratMonteserrat

This is what we saw, only it was cold and overcast!!!
Monteserrat was not worth the journey it took to get there and back, it took all day! We had to transfer metro stations, had to buy an expensive 22.5 package for the train and funiculars to the top of the mountain. We got off the train at the 1st Monteserrat stop to find out that that was only for the tram...we pre-paid for the funicular which was the next stop. OK no problem right....WRONG...the trains only come once every hour! So we waited. Only 15-20 people made the same mistake as we did...about half of them paid for the tram even though they also pre-paid for the funicuar. Rip-off....I think they are in cahootz!

We saw the monastery, it was nothing special. The hanging monastery in Datong, China was MUCH more impressive!!! I took a few pictures to prove i was there and was ready to take the LONG journey back home. I think I lost my camera either out of my pocket in the funicular on the way back down or I may have put it down while trading off holding Jake. He was super fussy, because, again, HE WON'T sleep it there are things to see!!!

I was exhausted when we got back to the hotel and did not feel like dragging a cranky baby to a restaurant, so Brian got me take-out Chinese from around the corner. He was going to go out for tapas after he brought me dinner. However, due to a communication error, he ended up eating Chinese with me. The waiter said he spoke English, so when Brian asked for chicken with string beans, he replied, "Oh yeah, right here" and pointed to the menu. ...it was chicken with green bell pepper. Brian knowing I don't like bell pepper re-ordered me some chicken with mushrooms and bamboo shoots. He didn't want the bell pepper dish go to waste and ate dinner in the room with me.

Overall...crappy day! Here is a stock photo of Monteserrat...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb