Ciudad de mi corazón


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
February 27th 2009
Published: April 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The rest of my trip in Barcelona went by all too quickly despite the fact that Liz and I spent our days lazily wandering around visiting beautiful tourist sites, eating delicious paella (at least on my part), and mullet hunting (which was Liz's part). We went to beautiful places. None more breathtakingly beautiful than Montjuïc. If you're ever in Barcelona this is an absolute must-see. The views of the city are gorgeous and you can just lie out sprawling on the luscious grass, soaking in the sun.
Another place to get great views of the city is on top of el Mirador Colón, situated at one end of Las Ramblas. I got some great shots from up there. But I have to say if you're claustrophobic this is not the place for you. There were so many of us packed into one tiny area!
Las Ramblas is another place to visit. We found interesting things just walking down it. The fact that it was Carnaval didn't hurt as people in costumes lined the street. There was also a nice market with interesting things to buy. Though luckily I showed considerable will power when it came to buying things in Barcelona.
We also toured the Barcelona of Gaudí. First stop being Casa Gaudí which was quite serene. Then onto the world's largest park bench in Parc Güell. The colors are vibrant and while it was crowded, the weather was beautiful and sunny, and the atmosphere was overall relaxing. Well at least for me it was. I don't think Liz was as relaxed due to the very brave pigeons, who weren't afraid to come right up to people, a fact that stressed my friend out and I'm sorry to admit that gave me quite a bit of amusement.
Another Gaudí must-see was, without a doubt, the Sagrada Familia. It was breathtaking, which is the excuse that I'm using for my very ungracious face plant which almost destroyed my camera. Luckily the camera was only a little bit scratched. As for me, only my pride was scratched, but it was relieved by the fact that so many people came to help me out after I fell. In fact my friend Liz couldn't even help me out because a bunch of other people had already started to help me first. This moment was completely embarrassing but also inspiring in the general compassion that was displayed.
Parc GüellParc GüellParc Güell

Croooowded.
I mean I come from a small town and if I face planted on the sidewalk there I'm sure I'd get more laughs than helping hands.
Overall my trip to Barcelona was amazing and I can't wait to go back there again someday. I highly recommend visiting this city as it is beautiful and culturally/historically enriching.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

AlmuerzoAlmuerzo
Almuerzo

miam miam
Mullet huntMullet hunt
Mullet hunt

Liz was supposed to be taking a pic of me, but I am not as interesting as mullets.
TelefunicularTelefunicular
Telefunicular

On the way up to Montjuïc.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb